Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Afi 5 firewire problems

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    9
    Post Thanks / Like

    Afi 5 firewire problems

    Hi,

    about six months ago I bought a used Leaf Afi5 system with which I'm quite happy with after many years of Rollei usage (SL66 and 6008).

    One thing which I don't get to work anymore is the firewire connection.

    I connected the back to a Windows 7 (64bit) PC running Capture One Pro via a FW400 interface and adapter 400-800. Capture One Pro recongnized the back and noted that a new firmware should be downloaded. I accepted the download and the firmware of the back was updated. Afterwards the back was running with a new GUI. So far so good.

    After some weeks I wanted to try tethered with Capture One and the camera but I did not get any connection. Even the windows device manager was not showing anything.

    Phase One support was not very helpful. I got mainly the remark, that my firewire interface is the rootcause of the problem. I tried two windows computers, I got a Phase One prooven firewire interface card, I tried a MacBook (without Capture One) but I never got a firewire connection anymore.
    I reseted the back to factory setting but nothing changed.

    Did the firewire interface in my back die somehow or has the new firmware some issues with the Afi5 or do I have to configure something?

    Has somebody experienced a similar issue?

    Best regards

    Theo

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    550
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Afi 5 firewire problems

    I've had similar issues. Putting a power source in the middle of this helps make problems go away. Do a search on firewire and power sources on the forums to find recommendations.

  3. #3
    Workshop Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,275
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    7

    Re: Afi 5 firewire problems

    In my experience, in order of likelihood, firewire connectivity issues are caused by:
    - insufficient power (get a high quality powered hub)
    - bad cable or too long a cable (use only Leaf 15' cables)
    - software/OS issues (epsecially with Windows)
    - digital back hardware failure

    The digital back hardware failure is not impossible; I've seen it once or twice a year, but it's the least likely cause.

    Speak to the dealer from whom you bought your used back. They will surely help you with diagnosing and fixing the problem for you; it's their job!

    Also, not clear what you mean "I tried a MacBook (without Capture One)" since you can only tether WITH Capture One.

    Easiest way to test your back if it's working is to plug it in with a good condition 15ft Leaf firewire cable to a rear port of a Mac Pro running 10.7 or 10.8 and the latest version of C1 (7.1.3 as of today). To be clear it should work on a large variety of computers/OS/C1-versions/FW-ports etc, but if you're in "I need to know if my back is ok" mode then this combination is the most likely to give you a false-negative.
    Doug Peterson , Digital Transitions | Email
    Dealer for: Phase One, Mamiya Leaf, Arca-Swiss, Cambo, Eizo, Profoto
    Office: 877.367.8537. Cell: 740.707.2183

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    255
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Afi 5 firewire problems

    It's most likely the cable.
    Get a new original Leaf cable without an adapter.
    If that still doesn't work then the back's comms are probably shot.
    IMO not very likely a PC problem.

    Try two cables, two computers, two backs and then you'll know for sure which one is the culprit.

  5. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    9
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Afi 5 firewire problems

    Hi,

    many thanks for your hints.
    I used the cable supplied with the back but I will try a different one. I will also try to get a MacPro running OS-X 10.7/8. I will also look for intermediate power source. The current firewire interface card has an additional power supply connector which I connected.
    When I meant "I tried a MacBook without Capture One" I connected it via the firewire cable and expected at list the camera be listed as new device. But to be honest I'm not familiar with OS-X and the owner of the MacBook was also not familiar with firewire connected cameras.
    The strange thing is that with the old Digital Back firmware the back connected via firewire to my windows PC without issue. It's just now after firmware update.

  6. #6
    Senior Member yaya's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    1,168
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    38

    Re: Afi 5 firewire problems

    From the main screen on the back select Setup, then Power (at the bottom) and check that it is set to FireWire as opposed to Camera Battery. Then plug it into your PC
    When you plug it in does the Orange light come on? Can you hear the fan spinning at all?

    If none of the above, change it to Camera Battery and plug it in again

    If none of this helps contact your local/ nearest dealer and ask them to lend you a powered FW repeater. This will rule out any power issues on the PC and if the device manager won't see the back it will likely mean that the back needs to go in for a service check

    Hope this helps

    Yair
    Last edited by yaya; 13th September 2013 at 01:09.
    Yair Shahar | Product Manager | Phase One | Mamiya Leaf
    e: [email protected]om | m: +44(0)77 8992 8199 | yaya's blog

  7. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    9
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Afi 5 firewire problems

    Hi Yair,

    As fas as I see I do not find a "Power" menu.

    When I select "Setup" I get the following Screen:



    In the "Camera"-"Camera-setting" I get the following Screens:



    and



    When I plug in the firewire cable the back starts up and the LED is green.

    But no Connection to the PC.

    I had the hope that there is a hidden menu for firewire enable/disable in the new Firmware but probably have to face the Situation that the back is faulty.

    I have ordered a powered firewire repeater but not much hope.

    Thanks for all your good hints.

  8. #8
    Senior Member EH21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    394
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Afi 5 firewire problems

    Hi,
    What's interesting to me is that the power setting feature is not shown on your screen shots. Here is a picture of my AFi-ii 12 screen where you can see the power menu, bottom left. I thought at first this was because you have your camera set to work with a Large Format camera instead of AFi, but tried that setting on my back and the power button was still on mine. Hmmm.... Are you using the Leaf cable with the L-shaped end going into the back?
    When you connect the back to the computer with the firewire cable do you get a message "Waiting for connection... Tethered mode."? Also have you formatted your CF card according to Leaf specifications and have the card in the camera?

    Last two things - you can't access the power settings screen with the back tethered to the computer. You have to reach that when the back is powered up with a battery - don't know why. If you are looking for that setting with the back connected via firewire you won't see it.

    My back does not show the little green icon of an electrical plug on top right side of your image. This could be because your's is an early AFi 5 and mine later model and different from each other.

  9. #9
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    9
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Afi 5 firewire problems

    Hi,

    now I see whats meant by the power butten, it never appears. Also not when the back is powered by the Afi camera battery.
    Yes I'm using the Leaf cable with the L-shaped connector going into the back.

    When I connect the firewire cable, and I have the back switched off than the back switches on but no message.
    When I connect the firewire cable and the back is on the Afi and switched on and powered by the camera battery I do get nothing.

    I tried it with CF and without. I tried it with CF card newly formated.

    I think I should send the back to service.

    Does anybody have experience with Leaf service here in Germany? Should I better contact Calumet or Photouniversal?

    Best regards

    Theo

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •