Site Sponsors
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 51 to 79 of 79

Thread: New Phase IQ Firmware Update

  1. #51
    Subscriber & Workshop Member GrahamWelland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Vancouver, WA
    Posts
    5,802
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    564

    Re: New Phase IQ Firmware Update

    Just wondering if people were having the same problem with KG and Alpa synch cables since they inherently work in the same way to trigger a wake up and shutter circuit connection to the back.
    Remember: adventure before dementia!

    As Oscar Wilde said, "my tastes are simple, I only like the best"

  2. #52
    Senior Member kdphotography's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Carmel/Tucson
    Posts
    2,355
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: New Phase IQ Firmware Update

    It didn't matter for me, Graham. I used both KG one-shot and regular pc sync cables. Zero latency and normal. With the latest firmware installed, my IQ180 would not receive a signal and no image would be recorded using a technical camera, in my case, Cambo WRS and HR40. The 5.10.1 firmware did work for me initially, but I had only used it with the Phase DF at that point. Once I tried it on the Cambo, it was a no-go. Once earlier firmware was re-installed, the MFDB behaved normally and worked on both camera bodies.

    The issue now presented for Phase One to resolve, is getting my IQ180 up to specification as advertised---in other words, I want USB 3.0 capability. I should be able to have the latest firmware installed and enjoy a fully featured MFDB---without my having to pay any further for what I was promised in the first place!

    ken

  3. #53
    Senior Member stephengilbert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Santa Monica, CA
    Posts
    2,274
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2

    Re: New Phase IQ Firmware Update

    Using it only on a tech cam, the new firmware seems to work properly on my IQ 160.

    Has anyone had problems with the 160, or is the fault* appearing only on the 180s?

    * It is a fault, isn't it, and not a feature?
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

  4. #54
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    32° 31' 37.06" N, 111° 6' 0.9" W
    Posts
    4,333
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: New Phase IQ Firmware Update

    It's good to hear that Stephen had no problems with his IQ160 maybe there's hope for mine. I've still decided to wait till I I return to Tucson next month.

    On another note - I've been meaning to comment on how well Ken is doing about not having his 180. Throughout this entire ordeal Ken has remained calm which is the opposite of what my reactions would have been. All that deep breathing is working Ken.
    Don Libby
    Iron Creek Photography
    Blog
    Tucson AZ
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

  5. #55
    Senior Member dchew's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Northeast Ohio
    Posts
    971
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: New Phase IQ Firmware Update

    Quote Originally Posted by stephengilbert View Post
    Using it only on a tech cam, the new firmware seems to work properly on my IQ 160.

    Has anyone had problems with the 160, or is the fault* appearing only on the 180s?

    * It is a fault, isn't it, and not a feature?
    lmao. Thanks for that Stephen.

    Interesting question. If this is limited to IQ180's then I will be less forgiving.

    Dave
    How glorious a greeting the sun gives the mountains! - John Muir

    davechewphotography.com

  6. #56
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    242
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: New Phase IQ Firmware Update

    Since Phase has indicated that there have been component changes during the IQ prodction cycle that may be responsible for the PC sync issue, I wonder if they can provide serial numbers of those early IQ backs that might be at risk using the newest firmware.

  7. #57
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Palo Alto, CA
    Posts
    621
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1

    Re: New Phase IQ Firmware Update

    My IQ160 has updated without issue, including working well on my tech cam. The PC cables I use are the ones that came with the back. I haven't tested the KG cable as I don't use it.
    Best,
    Bob

  8. #58
    Workshop Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Brooklyn
    Posts
    4,043
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1253

    Re: New Phase IQ Firmware Update

    what is the advantage of the upgrade to an early IQ160?

  9. #59
    Senior Member kdphotography's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Carmel/Tucson
    Posts
    2,355
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: New Phase IQ Firmware Update

    John,

    I put the Phase 5.10.1 release notes in the DropBox folder with archived older fw versions: https://www.dropbox.com/sh/258ngmkjxewo04e/fHEftLJnUM

    It's a worthwhile firmware update. Adds B&W viewing of images option. USB3, tighter performance, etc. I just gotta get there... All is good

    ken

  10. #60
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    242
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: New Phase IQ Firmware Update

    Bob - Did your IQ160 upgrade consist of factory modifications or was your upgrade limited to firmware changes? Is your IQ160 an early model? If the factory peformed the upgrade, did you incur any out of pocket expenses?

  11. #61
    Senior Member kdphotography's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Carmel/Tucson
    Posts
    2,355
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: New Phase IQ Firmware Update

    Phil,

    I haven't heard of any IQ160 issues with the fw update; I've only heard of issues involving older generation IQ180 backs. The issue is real, but it appears to be pretty limited in scope.

    If you have a firmware issue arise with a camera or MFDB, your Phase dealer is your best resource to help get it resolved quickly. Zac at Capture Integration was a great help to me.

    ken

  12. #62
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Los Altos, CA
    Posts
    38
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: New Phase IQ Firmware Update

    Knock on wood, but so far no problems with my IQ180 on a DF+ or Alpa STC with 5.10.1. I use the sync cord with a push button wake up, a minijack connector and long curly cord to the lens. Has anyone found a shorter sync cord with a wake up button and no intermediate connector? Maybe we should all group together to custom order one or push Phase to make a firmware update to have wake up for tech cameras as a button on the back.

  13. #63
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Palo Alto, CA
    Posts
    621
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1

    Re: New Phase IQ Firmware Update

    Quote Originally Posted by fotophil View Post
    Bob - Did your IQ160 upgrade consist of factory modifications or was your upgrade limited to firmware changes? Is your IQ160 an early model? If the factory peformed the upgrade, did you incur any out of pocket expenses?
    Just downloaded and upgraded the firmware via CF card.
    Shot it almost all day today without major issues.
    I don't think I have an early IQ160 model as I waited several months before upgrading.
    Bob

  14. #64
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Eads, Tennessee
    Posts
    1,033
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: New Phase IQ Firmware Update

    I have an IQ180 purchased in June of the release year and my firmware upgrade works flawlessly. I am not using the Alpa cable but rather the button cable sold by C1.

    Victor

  15. #65
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    431
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: New Phase IQ Firmware Update

    Coming late to this thread, but I went through this same routine a good while ago, like... May 2012, when 5.x firmware was released and my early IQ180 had problems with it. It had to go back to Denmark for component update, and I noticed a switch from 'Revision 1' to 'Revision 2' on the back. (find yours under 'About') That sorted it.

    My problems with USB3 were now fixed - very useful, now works flawlessly with Capture One on a Surface Pro via USB3.

    Good luck

  16. #66
    Senior Member kdphotography's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Carmel/Tucson
    Posts
    2,355
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: New Phase IQ Firmware Update

    Quote Originally Posted by narikin View Post
    ....
    My problems with USB3 were now fixed - very useful, now works flawlessly with Capture One on a Surface Pro via USB3.

    Good luck
    I'd be interested in hearing more about your experiences/workflow using the Surface Pro and USB3 on the IQ.... especially now that the Surface Pro 2 is out. Not too keen on what I've seen of Windows 8 though...

    ken

  17. #67
    Senior Member dchew's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Northeast Ohio
    Posts
    971
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: New Phase IQ Firmware Update

    Wanted to let you all know that my back has a faulty port and will be going back to Phase like Ken's. I am pretty convinced my situation was an isolated case; this is not a systemic problem with IQ1XX backs and firmware 5.10.1.

    One thing I mentioned somewhere above is that my back always had occasional sync issues, say one capture out of 20. I just chalked it up to the sync cable. But it now looks like I've had a faulty port for a while, maybe since day one. So please don't think everyone will have the same issue I did.

    Phase and my dealer have been very good throughout this process. Cheers to all involved.

    Ciao,
    Dave
    Last edited by dchew; 2nd January 2014 at 18:29.
    How glorious a greeting the sun gives the mountains! - John Muir

    davechewphotography.com
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

  18. #68
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    431
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: New Phase IQ Firmware Update

    Quote Originally Posted by kdphotography View Post
    I'd be interested in hearing more about your experiences/workflow using the Surface Pro and USB3 on the IQ.... especially now that the Surface Pro 2 is out. Not too keen on what I've seen of Windows 8 though...

    ken
    There's not much to say really - it works. The screen is bright and great in the field, even in sunlight. You have a free version of Capture One Pro DB you can install on the Pro. I simply tether my IQ in the field, and get a really accurate 100% focus check, much better than using the back screen. The Pro could be lighter (its 2lb) but its not bad, and a lot better than the 5lb Fujitsu convertible I used before. I wish Apple would release an iPad Pro, but they don't seem interested in doing that. With this set up I saw no reason to upgrade to an IQ280, with the WiFi to iPad. You get a better features -full C1 Pro- with the simple use of a $10 cable than the WiFi feature can ever give..

    There is a lot of hubbub talked about Windows 8, but really its fine. People need to get over it, they want everything to stay exactly the same. It's just a modest learning curve, and now I'm settled into it, I kind of prefer it to 7, though they do try and force their apps on you - Weather, News, Music, etc. but so do Apple, Google, its part of the deal. The upgrade to 8.1 is free, of course.

    The original Surface Pro is great value now if you want to try - you can get them for as little as $450/500. Battery lasts 4hrs, which is plenty for my purposes.
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

  19. #69
    Member schuster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    New Hampshire, US
    Posts
    129
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    11

    Re: New Phase IQ Firmware Update

    Quote Originally Posted by narikin View Post
    I wish Apple would release an iPad Pro, but they don't seem interested in doing that.

    The original Surface Pro is great value now if you want to try - you can get them for as little as $450/500.
    There was an interesting article here a couple days ago: The case for an iPad Pro - Computerworld

    Meantime, do you feel there'd be any benefit to the Surface Pro 2 over the previous model?

  20. #70
    Senior Member kdphotography's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Carmel/Tucson
    Posts
    2,355
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: New Phase IQ Firmware Update

    Surface Pro 2 has better battery life and a faster processor. Some other minor tweaks. The tablet form factor combined with a DigiPlate Lite from Nine-volt.com looks like a good portable USB3 tethering combination for the IQ series MFDB.

    Of course, I need to get my IQ180 back from Denmark first. It's awfully lonely here in Carmel.

    ken

  21. #71
    Senior Member alajuela's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Shanghai / Miami
    Posts
    552
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    124

    Re: New Phase IQ Firmware Update

    Quote Originally Posted by kdphotography View Post
    Surface Pro 2 has better battery life and a faster processor. Some other minor tweaks. The tablet form factor combined with a DigiPlate Lite from Nine-volt.com looks like a good portable USB3 tethering combination for the IQ series MFDB.

    Of course, I need to get my IQ180 back from Denmark first. It's awfully lonely here in Carmel.

    ken
    I have the Digiplate Lite - is really good and half the weight of a Tether Tools or Gitzo plate. Here is a photo of it, with a MacBook Air. You can set it up on a Gitzo "0" tripod, for me the new set up set saves 2.5 kg over what I was doing before
    I have also tried it with optional bracket that allows it to hang on the tripod the camera is on - it works

  22. #72
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    32° 31' 37.06" N, 111° 6' 0.9" W
    Posts
    4,333
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: New Phase IQ Firmware Update

    Might be old news however wanted to share.

    I didn't want to do the upgrade to my 160 while in Jackson Hole just in case it bricked like Kens so waited until I got back. Having gotten caught up with everything else I decided to do the upgrade this afternoon. Long story short - IT LIVES! Ran the upgrade and tested it out on both the DF and WRS using a one shot wig no problems.

    My 160 is one of the older backs since Guy bought it I think as soon as it was released before me buying it. So, if you have a 160 and are hesitant as I was in doing this go ahead and jump in, the waters fine....
    Don Libby
    Iron Creek Photography
    Blog
    Tucson AZ
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

  23. #73
    Member schuster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    New Hampshire, US
    Posts
    129
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    11

    Re: New Phase IQ Firmware Update

    Quote Originally Posted by Don Libby View Post
    ...My 160 is one of the older backs since Guy bought it I think as soon as it was released before me buying it. So, if you have a 160 and are hesitant as I was in doing this go ahead and jump in, the waters fine....
    Just to second that… My IQ160 was delivered shortly thereafter, and I did the update a couple weeks ago with no problem too.
    Likes 2 Member(s) liked this post

  24. #74
    Senior Member kdphotography's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Carmel/Tucson
    Posts
    2,355
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: New Phase IQ Firmware Update

    I'm just really glad that Phase One has my back back to normal! I'm very appreciative of the customer service from Capture Integration in Atlanta and Phase Melville, NY and Phase One in Denmark.

    In the meantime, I spent quite a bit of time putting together some tethering options like Phil (above) and have to say I'm impressed with the build-quality of the Nine-Volt Digiplate Lite system. I even fashioned together a semi unorthodox use of the Digiplate Lite for the Surface Pro 2, ditching the "red arms" for further weight savings. Not sure if it's "for me" and may sell it or keep it in studio.

    ken

  25. #75
    Senior Member stephengilbert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Santa Monica, CA
    Posts
    2,274
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2

    Re: New Phase IQ Firmware Update

    Just another reason why the "smart money" went with the 160.
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

  26. #76
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    242
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: New Phase IQ Firmware Update

    I drilled a series of 1/2 inch diameter holes to reduce the weight of the Digiplate Lite Bracket. The aluminum alloy is quite strong so that the holes have not compromised the function of the bracket.
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

  27. #77
    Senior Member dchew's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Northeast Ohio
    Posts
    971
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: New Phase IQ Firmware Update

    Update - My IQ180 is back from Denmark. Works like a charm. At first I had a few misfires, but either the back learns or I found my rhythm; it has been flawless the last 5 days. They did a lot of stuff. Service report says:
    Recalibration
    Firmware updated
    Repair of Digital board
    Repair of Utility board
    Repair of Interface circuit
    Firmware version check
    Image capture & inspection
    Focus inspection
    Check of camera attachment
    Check of external connections
    Visual inspection
    Cleaning

    Dave
    How glorious a greeting the sun gives the mountains! - John Muir

    davechewphotography.com
    Likes 4 Member(s) liked this post

  28. #78
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    32° 31' 37.06" N, 111° 6' 0.9" W
    Posts
    4,333
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: New Phase IQ Firmware Update

    Great news Dave!
    Don Libby
    Iron Creek Photography
    Blog
    Tucson AZ

  29. #79
    Senior Member dchew's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Northeast Ohio
    Posts
    971
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: New Phase IQ Firmware Update

    Thanks Don. P1 really stepped up. When I originally bought this at PODAS I had to choose between the DF kit or the VA warranty. I chose the kit thinking I would sell the DF and upgrade the warranty after a few months. Well, when I sold the DF good 'ol American Immediate Gratification* took over and I bought the SK150 instead.
    [*Hmm; AIG - maybe this is what the failed-then-bailed insurance giant really stands for?!]

    Long way of saying my back was out of warranty, but they covered it anyway. All I paid for was shipping. I am indeed a Happy Camper.

    Dave
    How glorious a greeting the sun gives the mountains! - John Muir

    davechewphotography.com
    Likes 2 Member(s) liked this post

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •