Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Variable ND filter for HR32?

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    1,198
    Post Thanks / Like

    Variable ND filter for HR32?

    Hi folks -

    Looking on B&H, I can only find variable ND filters in big enough thread size for the HR32 by Light Craft.

    Variable Neutral Density | B&H Photo Video

    Is anyone familiar with these, or can point me to any alternatives?

    TIA,

    Gerald.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    1,068
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    83

    Re: Variable ND filter for HR32?

    Gerald,

    Hitech makes up to 105mm, and this maybe a better size for that lens with a step-up ring.

    Hitech 105mm Multistop Filter - Photographic Retailer in London, Ship Worldwide! | Teamwork Digital

    Not sure how a variable ND will perform on that lens, because they are essentially two polarizers sandwiched together, I don't believe the quality is equal to using a single ND filter.

    I went with a set of Heliopan coated slim ND filters. I also went with the larger 105mm for two reasons. Firstly, vignetting with is already and issue on that lens without CF. Secondly, I can use it over the CF if needed. So a 105mm with a step-up ring was my choice.

    The normal ND filters come in 105mm sizes as well and up to 10stops (similar to the Lee Big Stopper, but in a screw-in format)

    I got all mine from Teamworks in the UK. I also got their slim c.polarizer. Prices were very good, and they are a great bunch guys to deal with.

    The Heliopan filters are very high-quality, and in no way inferior to b+w that i have 77mm set in. Only complaint was I had to wait for some of the filters in the larger size as they were special order.

    Heliopan Neutral Density Filter - ND 0.6 - Photographic Retailer in London, Ship Worldwide! | Teamwork Digital

  3. #3
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Shashin's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    4,497
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    141

    Re: Variable ND filter for HR32?

    Gerald, the weakness to variable ND filters is at their maximum density where the "black X" effect becomes visible. This gets worse the wider the lens. If you are going to use it for the lower density range, they may be worth it. I might get two regular ND filters which you could stack for three different densities--two stacked ND filters is no more glass than one variable ND filter.

    Speaking of Heliopan filters, I had a CF that had air bubbles in it. The US distributor was also a nightmare to work with when I tried to replace it under warranty.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    219
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Variable ND filter for HR32?

    Hi !
    Would such a variable ND filter be a solution to use Live View on an IQ160 back ? So dial in maximum ND for LV-focusing, and the dial it back to minimum for taking the picture ? Could be less hassle than sliding in a regular ND filter and then taking it out again.
    Of course, you still lose light even at the lowest setting, but may be convenient.

    What do you think ?

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    398
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Variable ND filter for HR32?

    I would not use a variable ND filter with a very wide angle lens due to the black "cross" or "x" image effect and non-uniform results on skies for example. It isn't the best solution for image quality anyway so I would end up removing it to take the shot. Much easier to just use a Lee/Schneider square filter system. Quick snap on - snap off if needed.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Vienna, Austria
    Posts
    145
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Variable ND filter for HR32?

    I have been using a variable ND for live view with an Aptus 75 for many years, works great for me!

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    1,198
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Variable ND filter for HR32?

    Many thanks for the sage advice folks. Had no idea about the "black X" problem.

    I'll get a couple more Lee ND's so that I can mix up anything between about a 2 stop and a 10 stop.

    Kind regards,

    Gerald.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    398
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Variable ND filter for HR32?

    Quote Originally Posted by gerald.d View Post
    Many thanks for the sage advice folks. Had no idea about the "black X" problem.

    I'll get a couple more Lee ND's so that I can mix up anything between about a 2 stop and a 10 stop.

    Kind regards,

    Gerald.
    That's a good idea. I have a 2 , 4 and a 8 stop. I use them single or pair them up as needed. Generally I only travel with the 4 and the 8.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    1,198
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Variable ND filter for HR32?

    Hmm.

    Looking into this, the problem with Lee is that they jump from 3-stop to 10-stop. I've got them both already, but it's the bit in the middle that I often find I'm wanting.

    I'm now considering a 1,2,4,8-stop set of Hitech ProStops, rather than mixing and matching brands.

    Anyone familiar with the Hitechs? Are the glass ones worth it over the resin?

    Kind regards,

    Gerald.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    398
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Variable ND filter for HR32?

    Hi, I have the Hitech's and they are nice. They have IR filtration so Color is quite good even with the 10 stop. I now use the Schneider IRND's (4x4") and they are superb. They are heavier but the glass is dang near perfect. I got the landscape kit that comes with the modified lee holder to accommodate the thicker Schneider filters. It uses the standard lee adapter rings though (I use the wide angle rings) which is great.

    I got the schneiders to get better glass and to move up in size since my hitech's are the Cokin P size which is smaller and not big enough when I am shift stitching.
    Last edited by Ken_R; 23rd December 2013 at 13:14.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •