The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Phase One IQ250 - 11 things you need to know, and Q&A

dougpeterson

Workshop Member
High ISO work is IMO not what an MF camera is supposed to be used for anyway. If this CMOS technology offers a better usability for tech camera work it's a benefit. If not I see no real development here...
I guess everyone's needs are different.

I've been doing this for six years now and the top three feature complaints I've heard from people who were considering buying a back were:
1) crappy LCD
2) poor ISO performance
3) no live view

Phase One basically eliminated #1 with the IQ series. It's that good.

Phase One improved #2 and #3 with the IQ series. They got good ISO1600 and ok ISO3200, but only at reduced resolution. They got Live View but it's fairly slow, and doesn't handle low or contrasty light very well.

With the 250 #2 and #3 are very well handled.

Anyway, I'm not trying to convince you - if you don't need or care about ISO then it won't mean anything to you. I was just trying to explain why I think I'll continue getting the massive volume of "I'm interested" email that I've seen in the last hour.

gerald.d

Doug - appreciate that you're juggling lots of questions from multiple places at the moment, but if I may ask again in case you missed it...

At what shutter speed does the dark-frame kick in?

Shashin