Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 21 of 21

Thread: Capture Pilot 1.5 Released

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    16
    Post Thanks / Like

    Capture Pilot 1.5 Released

    Below is a link to a comprehensive review from our Capture One Guru, Josh Booth. It covers all of the advanced features and our initial results with the new release of Capture Pilot 1.5.

    https://captureintegration.com/captu...-1-5-released/
    Last edited by Louis Novak; 24th January 2014 at 14:53.
    ________________
    Louis Novak, Technical Support Specialist, Capture Integration (e-mail Me)
    National: 877.217.9870 | Direct: 786.459.7865

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Little Rock AR
    Posts
    1,927
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    4

    Re: Capture Pilot 1.5 Released

    As the review states, but should have been in the header, Don't install this if you use the adhoc connection to connect to the IQ2 back.

    This version makes it worse, no telling when "another" fix will come out.

    No way to get back 1.4 of Capture Pilot unless you are lucky enough to still have it in your apps backup and did not sync over it yet as I did.

    Great catch by CI

    Paul

  3. #3
    Senior Member alajuela's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Shanghai / Miami
    Posts
    552
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    124

    Re: Capture Pilot 1.5 Released

    Hi

    Question:

    Will this upgrade take advantage of the Ipad Retina resolution?

    Phil

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Little Rock AR
    Posts
    1,927
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    4

    Re: Capture Pilot 1.5 Released

    The was no mention of any display improvements in the release notes when I finally found them.

    Paul

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    487
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture Pilot 1.5 Released

    Has anyone get it to work on IOS 7 and IQ2 Adhoc? I still couldn't connect and got a incompatible server error message.

  6. #6
    Senior Member alajuela's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Shanghai / Miami
    Posts
    552
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    124

    Re: Capture Pilot 1.5 Released

    Quote Originally Posted by Paul2660 View Post
    The was no mention of any display improvements in the release notes when I finally found them.

    Paul
    Thats Sad -

  7. #7
    Subscriber & Workshop Member GrahamWelland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Vancouver, WA
    Posts
    5,803
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    564

    Re: Capture Pilot 1.5 Released

    Folks

    Follow the capture integration link in Paul's initial post.

    Retina display - there's an option for this.

    Link errors are covered too.

    Basically, don't use it on ios7 with adhoc yet.
    Remember: adventure before dementia!

    As Oscar Wilde said, "my tastes are simple, I only like the best"

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    487
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture Pilot 1.5 Released

    Thanks Graham.

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    128
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    24

    Re: Capture Pilot 1.5 Released

    And a 'Reverse Thumbnail Order' slider which several people here have been asking for.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Little Rock AR
    Posts
    1,927
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    4

    Re: Capture Pilot 1.5 Released

    The respect retina was in the older version also. With VR 1.4 I don't think even with this enabled you get the best resolution from the larger retina iPad display. I assumed this was a carry over feature from VR 1.4 it may be better now.

    I based my opinion on the fact the with VR 1.4 respect retina on makes a little difference but you still don't see the images locking in as crisp as the should. This version may have improved on that but until they fix the screw up on the adhoc connection I won't be able to use it.

    With VR 1.4 and respect retina on, I feel to get the best/ sharpest view you need to minimize the view a bit squeezing it down with fingers a bit.

    Paul
    Last edited by Paul2660; 26th January 2014 at 05:04.
    Paul Caldwell
    [email protected]
    www.photosofarkansas.com
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

  11. #11
    Subscriber & Workshop Member GrahamWelland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Vancouver, WA
    Posts
    5,803
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    564

    Re: Capture Pilot 1.5 Released

    Quote Originally Posted by MILESF View Post
    And a 'Reverse Thumbnail Order' slider which several people here have been asking for.
    This is the frustrating aspect of the latest release because I really would like to use this but the broken adhoc wifi frustrates that for now. I'm pleased that Phase One listened regarding this capability.

    Hmm, maybe I should try it with my MiFi personal hotspot ...
    Remember: adventure before dementia!

    As Oscar Wilde said, "my tastes are simple, I only like the best"

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    128
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    24

    Re: Capture Pilot 1.5 Released

    Graham,

    My personal MiFi device works perfectly. No SIM card, no carrier subscription, no adhoc connection, needed.

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Little Rock AR
    Posts
    1,927
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    4

    Re: Capture Pilot 1.5 Released

    MiFi, But don't these need some form of a carrier i.e. AT&T? So you have to have usages issues if no service is available? I would love to learn more about this option if it's non-carrier dependent. The airport works well to but it needs A/C power.



    Paul

  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    128
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    24

    Re: Capture Pilot 1.5 Released

    Paul, I've posted on this before so apologies to anyone reading this second time. I bought a ZTE 'dongle' in Antalya where I spend quite a lot of time every summer. For use there I buy a pre-pay SIM card that works really well over 3G.

    When I got the IQ260 and had problems with the adhoc connection between back and iPad I tried the dongle in the UK. By then the prepay had run out and it won't work outside Italy in any case and it works just fine.

    So it just sits in my pocket or bag. Battery life is good too. I'm away from home but look through previous posts where I gave the model number. But if this one works then I assume others should work as well. It cost 59 Euros.

  15. #15
    Subscriber & Workshop Member GrahamWelland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Vancouver, WA
    Posts
    5,803
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    564

    Re: Capture Pilot 1.5 Released

    Thank you Miles. I have a Telstra prepay MiFi that is spare that I'll give a whirl. The good news of course is that these are small and the battery lasts a long time and if necessary I can easily recharge it using a self contained battery cell phone charger.

    I'm on the road at the moment so I may update one of iPads and try with my regular Verizon mifi too.

    Whilst it's not as convenient as adhoc, I can live with this until they fix things.
    Remember: adventure before dementia!

    As Oscar Wilde said, "my tastes are simple, I only like the best"

  16. #16
    Workshop Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,275
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    7

    Re: Capture Pilot 1.5 Released

    iOS7.0.2, our IQ260 running 5.10.1 firmware and an iPhone 4s with Capture Pilot 1.5.

    This combination worked fine adhoc when we tested it, no hacks or special settings required. We're deluged with IQ250 stuff right now, but our support team should have time soon to test broader combinations (e.g. iOS v7.0.4, iPhone 5, iPad Mini, iPad etc).

    The only issue I saw was reconnecting when the phone went to sleep - especially if there was another wifi network set to auto-join.

    Reverse sort is great. Much smarter - as was suggested by many people (here included).

    Edit: as you might expect from the CI post our further testing has shown continued significant issues with adhoc with many iOS+Device combos. P1 has acknowledged these adhoc issues and indicates a fix should be available soon.
    Last edited by dougpeterson; 29th January 2014 at 11:14.
    Doug Peterson , Digital Transitions | Email
    Dealer for: Phase One, Mamiya Leaf, Arca-Swiss, Cambo, Eizo, Profoto
    Office: 877.367.8537. Cell: 740.707.2183

  17. #17
    New Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    19
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture Pilot 1.5 Released

    There wasn't any new updates regarding Retina resolutions. The current method uses pixel-doubling to account for the retina resolution, which accounts for some of the softness of the image previews (there also isn't any pre-sharpening applied before sending the previews when connected to the back directly - compared to connecting to Capture One). Sending full-size retina-ready previews would require sending significantly more data and potentially hurt device performance.

    The Adhoc issue seems mostly isolated to iPads running iOS 7. I was able to fire up my iPhone 5 with iOS 7.0.4 without any issues to an IQ260 right away. This most likely has to do with the programming iOS differences between major devices such as iPads vs iPhones. While it may seem like all iOS7 installs are alike, there are unique builds for each device configuration.

    As I mentioned in the blog post, I could usually get the iPad to work if I first connected to Capture Pilot with my iPhone, then connected with my iPad. While only one device can access the actual server at a time, simply having the iPhone see the servers seemed to help. If the iPad went sleep, however, it needed the iPhone to connect again.

    In the mean time, we're keeping an eye on this issue and working closely with Phase One. Contact us or check out our blog for updates!
    Josh Booth
    Software Training & Support, Capture Integration (E-mail me)
    National: 877.217.9870 | Direct: 678.653.6487

  18. #18
    New Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    19
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture Pilot 1.5 Released

    The Adhoc issue seems mostly isolated to iPads running iOS 7. I was able to fire up my iPhone 5 with iOS 7.0.4 without any issues to an IQ260 right away. This most likely has to do with the programming iOS differences between major devices such as iPads vs iPhones. While it may seem like all iOS7 installs are alike, there are unique builds for each device configuration.

    As I mentioned in the blog post, I could usually get the iOS7 iPad to work over adhoc if I first connected to Capture Pilot with my iPhone, then connected with my iPad. While only one device can access the actual server at a time, simply having the iPhone see the servers seemed to help. If the iPad went sleep, however, it needed the iPhone to connect again.

    In the mean time, we're keeping an eye on this issue and working closely with Phase One. Contact us or check out our blog for updates!
    Josh Booth
    Software Training & Support, Capture Integration (E-mail me)
    National: 877.217.9870 | Direct: 678.653.6487

  19. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Little Rock AR
    Posts
    1,927
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    4

    Re: Capture Pilot 1.5 Released

    Exactly. The iPad is seen different in the iOS networking setup. Simple thing to test, and should have been before release. With the iPad unless you are working with a powered device like the airport, it's all about adhoc. In the field an airport is not really an option.

    Note the app is still out there as 1.5 and will still ask users to update.

    When you consider the amount of area between the iPhone and the IQ LCD is about the same the phone is giving much less versatility. iPad use is a lot more important in regards to WIFI to me.

    Let's see now iOS 7 was out for developers in March of 2013,..... iOS went live late October early November. 2013...... And we are well into 2014 and not able to really use this app anywhere to full design. Bit disappointing.

    Paul

  20. #20
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    303
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture Pilot 1.5 Released

    Quote Originally Posted by Paul2660 View Post

    When you consider the amount of area between the iPhone and the IQ LCD is about the same the phone is giving much less versatility. iPad use is a lot more important in regards to WIFI to me.

    Let's see now iOS 7 was out for developers in March of 2013,..... iOS went live late October early November. 2013...... And we are well into 2014 and not able to really use this app anywhere to full design. Bit disappointing.

    Paul
    Shhh. The marketing guys don't appear to be aware of the problem, and you don't want to confuse them (with the facts). But they do seem to agree on the larger screen of the iPad...

    From Phase One Web Site - IQ2 Digital Back Features:
    "Review wirelessly
    The larger screen of the iPad can make it easier to judge composition and the focus of an image. Thanks to the wireless connectivity in the IQ2 digital back, you can review and select images on the fly with an iPad running Capture Pilot."

    "Remote control
    The IQ2 digital backs have built-in high performance Wi-Fi and antennas, and you can connect your iPad or iPhone to it wirelessly…"

    "Travel light, go wireless
    Combine the wireless capabilities of an IQ2 digital back and iPad to get all the essential tools to capture and review great images anywhere."

    I purchased an IQ260 vs a really good deal on IQ160 in part because of the wireless capability. Love the files, love the back, but disappointed in actual wireless capability vs marketing speak.

    John

  21. #21
    Subscriber & Workshop Member GrahamWelland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Vancouver, WA
    Posts
    5,803
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    564

    Re: Capture Pilot 1.5 Released

    I think that the iPad vs iPhone connectivity goes beyond just IOS7 btw. As Josh should recall from my initial experiences with the IQ260, it is curious how the IQ and phone seems more reliable a connection wirelessly from the IQ side than the IQ to an iPad of any type.

    This is all for AdHoc mode, not via a hub btw.

    I was consistently able to makes my iPad connect to the IQ if, but only if, the iPhone made the wifi circuit first and the iPad joined later. Capture a pilot on the iPad would then communicate with the back. However, if the iPhone subsequently slept and dropped it's unused connection, the iPad would also no longer maintain the capture pilot session.

    This was true also for IOS 7, although I did find the iPad more reliable than before but unfortunately not consistent.

    I've almost been sorely tempted to go down the path of a tethered Surface Pro & USB3 connection to be honest. Not as convenient but consistency is really important from my point of view. Inconsistency is incredibly frustrating and confidence eroding.
    Remember: adventure before dementia!

    As Oscar Wilde said, "my tastes are simple, I only like the best"

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •