The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

New Visualizer Beta (free, no registration required) - feedback requested

dougpeterson

Workshop Member
Focal Length Visualizer

I have added a beta of v3 of our visualizer and would appreciate any feedback. Please keep in mind I am not a programmer by profession, only by hobby and necessity, so there's a lot I cannot do. One big thing I cannot do is allow an arbitrary numerical input (e.g. a popup that asks you how many mm of shift rather than forcing you to 5mm increments) - I'm sure a good programmer could do that, but I've tried and I can't get it to work.

The main feature added is the ability to look at the results of a sensor with stitching. This allows you to answer a question like "how wide is a 60XL lens when doing a 3-shot stitch with an IQ260?"

This tool, as it is today, is a result of feedback generously provided in the past on this forum and on GetDPI. That includes feedback that said the tool should be free, and not require any form of registration to use - and so it is. We appreciate your previous feedback and hope you'll contribute more.

----

IMPLEMENTED IN V3 Beta
(1) stitching for 2-5 rows, and 2-5 columns of images
(2) vertical or horizontal orientation for single-shot and stitched frames

NOT YET IMPLEMENTED, but likely to be implemented in v3:
(3) basic statistics like resolution, and print size for selectable PPI