Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 31 of 31

Thread: Experience with wake up cable from PhaseOne

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    188
    Post Thanks / Like

    Experience with wake up cable from PhaseOne

    Hi,
    does anybody have some experience with the wake up cable from PhaseOne? It is much cheaper than the Kapture Group cable (with less funktions - i know). But the price difference is huge.

    Is the PhaseOne cable OK? Is it available in europe? i cant find a dealer.

    Is there an other solution to wake up the Phase One back (besides "double click")?

    Thank you.
    mueller

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    188
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Experience with wake up cable from PhaseOne

    ..

  3. #3
    Workshop Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,275
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    7

    Re: Experience with wake up cable from PhaseOne

    Every Phase One dealer can provide this cable.

    It's just a cable with a button. Push the button the back wakes up. Works great.

    You'll need a multiport adapter cable to use it with P/P+/IQ/IQ2 backs (other than V mount backs) - also available from any Phase One dealer.
    Doug Peterson , Digital Transitions | Email
    Dealer for: Phase One, Mamiya Leaf, Arca-Swiss, Cambo, Eizo, Profoto
    Office: 877.367.8537. Cell: 740.707.2183
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

  4. #4
    Senior Member stephengilbert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Santa Monica, CA
    Posts
    2,272
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2

    Re: Experience with wake up cable from PhaseOne

    There are two kinds of cable for a back that needs to be wakened: the Phase type, which requires you to press the little button and then fire the shutter within a few (five?) seconds, and the Kapture Group/ALPA type in which the pressing of the cable release or shutter button wakes the back.

    There's a recent thread here: http://www.getdpi.com/forum/medium-f...tml#post567227

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    San Francisco Bay Area, California
    Posts
    384
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2

    Re: Experience with wake up cable from PhaseOne

    My Capture Group Two Shots cable broke and I replaced with Phase type wake up cable.

    When you press Phase type wake up cable, you need to make sure it is not causing any vibration.

  6. #6
    Subscriber & Workshop Member GrahamWelland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Vancouver, WA
    Posts
    5,801
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    564

    Re: Experience with wake up cable from PhaseOne

    I gave away one of my broken Kapture Group cables, kept one other that was repairable and the third broken cable is just kept as spares for the other one. In the meantime I bought two Alpa releases and also keep two straight through sync cables for zero latency use and 6x batteries.

    With my IQ back in the fall, winter, spring I can just use the zero latency ok. In the summer I use my Alpa releases. If disaster strikes and I can't use either the Alpa or zero latency I'll resort to the KG release. After my KG experiences I'd rather use the two shot Phase One cable instead. From this you may surmise my relative loathing of technical camera releases
    Remember: adventure before dementia!

    As Oscar Wilde said, "my tastes are simple, I only like the best"
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    188
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Experience with wake up cable from PhaseOne

    Hi Graham,
    And you don't use your phase one release wake up cable any more?
    Mueller

  8. #8
    Subscriber & Workshop Member GrahamWelland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Vancouver, WA
    Posts
    5,801
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    564

    Re: Experience with wake up cable from PhaseOne

    My two button wake up cable is built in to an Alpa handgrip.
    Remember: adventure before dementia!

    As Oscar Wilde said, "my tastes are simple, I only like the best"

  9. #9
    Subscriber Member jotloob's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    KEMPTEN / GERMANY
    Posts
    1,513
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    116

    Re: Experience with wake up cable from PhaseOne

    It looks like this
    Attachment 79904
    The image shows the cable for the HASSELBLAD CFV backs .
    You press the little button in the top of the left grip , creating the wakeup signal , before you press the shutter release .
    Regards . Jürgen .
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    188
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Experience with wake up cable from PhaseOne

    Hi guys,
    i have searched the internet and found that this 2 Button pahse one cable is with a jack connector. This doesnt fit in the P25. You need an adapter too. Then you have 200$ again... Ahhhh -

  11. #11
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: Experience with wake up cable from PhaseOne

    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    233
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Experience with wake up cable from PhaseOne

    WOW. not really chep for a cable. but Thank you.

    i my next life i will sell and build cables!!! :-)
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    83
    Post Thanks / Like

    Talking Re: Experience with wake up cable from PhaseOne

    Quote Originally Posted by cyron123 View Post
    WOW. not really chep for a cable. but Thank you.

    i my next life i will sell and build cables!!! :-)
    As you say build it up.
    Here also the wake up cable with multiple exposures switch.
    The white switch for single wake up signal and the black switch for the multiple exposure.
    The image showed RB shifted adapter which able to move both horizontal and vertical.
    Best Regards,
    Sunchai.



  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Los Altos, CA
    Posts
    38
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Experience with wake up cable from PhaseOne

    I use the Phase One wake up cable with the button. I wish someone would offer a version of this without the plug connector in the middle. This often comes undone and is unnecessary. Also, a simple, short, non-curly cable to the flash sync would be preferred over the existing one that I have to wrap around everything to keep out of the way. Finally, have the multi pin connector at the back have the cable exiting straight down. The existing angled exit sticks out and bends radically when putting the camera in a backpack. It will eventually cause the cable to break. I am looking for someone who can build these and I'm sure there are many others who would buy them. Note to Phase One: please give us more than 4 seconds from wake up to firing the shutter. A variable amount would be the best, but I would settle for 16 seconds. The back won't burn up in that amount of time.
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

  15. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    188
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Experience with wake up cable from PhaseOne

    Hi guys,
    Does anybody know if you can buy this plug at the phase one back alone? Without any cable? Is this a standard connector?

    And the connector at the copal shutter? Could you buy it too? What is the name of this?
    Thank you.
    Mueller

  16. #16
    Senior Member stephengilbert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Santa Monica, CA
    Posts
    2,272
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2

    Re: Experience with wake up cable from PhaseOne

    Guy and I once bought custom cables from Paramount Cable: Sync Cords PC Cords PC Female Rollei locking PC Nikon screwlock Hot shoe Miniphone monolite white lightning Metz 5 Metz 8 Vivitar sunpak tocad kodak nikon canon minalta pentax 20d 30d d2h

    I see they now show a trip button on their website, so maybe they can make what people are looking for.

  17. #17
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    188
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Experience with wake up cable from PhaseOne

    Hi stephengilbert,
    thank you for the link. But there is no connector to the Phase one back.
    Mueller

  18. #18
    Member weinlamm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    229
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    3

    Re: Experience with wake up cable from PhaseOne

    To buy the cable only should be no problem. Contact your local Phase One-dealer and say what you want. Here in Germany they have no Webshop - so I had to write an email with my order.

    But you couldn't use this on a Phase One-back directly. You need additional th "Multi connection to mini jack adaptor" Guy showed you. You only could plug the bigger round end in your Phase One back.
    So like Guy said - you need both for your Pxx-back.
    __________________
    Christian
    P.S.: If your wife knows everything... it's mostly not good for your gear.

  19. #19
    Senior Member stephengilbert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Santa Monica, CA
    Posts
    2,272
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2

    Re: Experience with wake up cable from PhaseOne

    Mueller,

    When we bought them, they made complete cables, with the Phase connector. Perhaps the Phase connector is no longer offered, but it would be worth contacting them to ask. As I recall, the cables were fairly inexpensive.

    Steve

  20. #20
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    188
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Experience with wake up cable from PhaseOne

    Hello guys,
    I have to say: I want to build my own cable. This is the reason I asked for the connectors from phase one alone. A PC sync connector should be no problem. But the phase one is a problem. I ve never seen a connector without a cable.
    Thank you guys.
    Mueller

  21. #21
    Subscriber & Workshop Member GrahamWelland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Vancouver, WA
    Posts
    5,801
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    564

    Re: Experience with wake up cable from PhaseOne

    Why don't you just buy a passive sync -> phase one cable and then splice it as you need?

    Just spend $60 and buy me!!!!
    Remember: adventure before dementia!

    As Oscar Wilde said, "my tastes are simple, I only like the best"
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

  22. #22
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    188
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Experience with wake up cable from PhaseOne

    HI,
    hmmm. Graham you are totally right. :-) really simple.. I will try that.
    mueller

  23. #23
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    188
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Experience with wake up cable from PhaseOne

    HI Sunchai,
    do made this cable by your own?
    mueller
    Quote Originally Posted by Sunchai View Post
    As you say build it up.
    Here also the wake up cable with multiple exposures switch.
    The white switch for single wake up signal and the black switch for the multiple exposure.
    The image showed RB shifted adapter which able to move both horizontal and vertical.
    Best Regards,
    Sunchai.



  24. #24
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    83
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Experience with wake up cable from PhaseOne

    Yes, I have the Phase One cable and did the modification by ourselves.
    If it help I have attach the diagram of the wire connection.
    Best Regards,
    Sunchai



  25. #25
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    188
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Experience with wake up cable from PhaseOne

    Hi Sunchai,
    thank you for your Infos.
    what is the "NC" at the 60FC plug?
    I thought that the mini plug has only 2 Connections? But there are 3 (without the shield).


    AHHHH. Is NC = not connected??? :-) ?!?!??!
    Mueller123

  26. #26
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    83
    Post Thanks / Like

    Talking Re: Experience with wake up cable from PhaseOne

    Hi,

    the connection is only pin 8 and pin2

    Have fun.

    Sunchai.

  27. #27
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    12
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Experience with wake up cable from PhaseOne

    Quote Originally Posted by Sunchai View Post
    As you say build it up.


    The image showed RB shifted adapter which able to move both horizontal and vertical.
    Best Regards,
    Sunchai.


    Hi Sunchai!
    Sorry ro jump on an existing thread with a deviation!

    Could you please elaborate on that RB adapter with movements? Never stumbled over such a thing. The idea seems to be beautiful and productive as well. Is it unique and custombuild - or can one order it from the shelf somewhee?

    Hope you find time for a short reply. Many thanks!
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

  28. #28
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    83
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Experience with wake up cable from PhaseOne

    The RBxy adapter have made since the Phase One light Phase (6M.pixels) timing.
    The population of RBxy was limited to those who have the RB camera and Phase One back
    it still working well for those who still prefer to the RB systems with P1 back.

    So sorry to inform that it was sold out and to reorder is almost imposible due to the request of quantity from the manufacture.

    the only one I have is for my own collection and memory
    Thank you Sunchai.



  29. #29
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    188
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Experience with wake up cable from PhaseOne

    Hi Guys,
    here is my new wake up cable for the Phase one:
    Mueller123

  30. #30
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    219
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Experience with wake up cable from PhaseOne

    As I am using the wake-up cable + cable release using an IQ160 back on a Tech cam, what I'd like to have on the back, is a sound when there was an error. Now, I press the button, and then the cable release. If I wait too long (because for example, I'm also trying to position the LCC card), the back prints there was an error on the LCD. But to notice this, I have to look at the screen. If all goes well, there is a "happy beep" from the back. Why not an "error beep" different from the happy beep? Perhaps a double beep ? That would allow also to hear that something went wrong - not just to see it on the screen (which I don't always look at).

  31. #31
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    83
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Experience with wake up cable from PhaseOne

    Hi,

    The picture showing the first version of the multiport switch cable.
    I have forgot I did one , this modification was few years ago.
    May be interesting to see…
    The picture also show the RBxy mouthing with Nikon 28mm Lens on Copal #3

    Sunchai.




Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •