The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

ALPA and HY6 back adapter

mmbma

I just got an Alpa Hy6 back adapter.
It doesn't fit perfectly on my Aptus 12 back. only three of the latches claps on securely, one doesn't.

The back is very secure on the camera, but I am bothered by this imprecision. Does anyone else have a similar issue? Is this normal or should I return this adapter?

Geoff

Fitting of AFI backs onto adapters is a bit of a … mystery? While the backs work great on the AFI, the fitting to third party adapter plates is not without some issues. While I have no mounting experience with the Alpa version - it does look very well made. Have had experience with Kapture Group's, which took a bit of fiddling, but with some adjustment he got it right.

On a Silvestri adapter, its a real struggle, and works better in some orientations than others (believe it or not). Sometimes it takes some hard (but by hand) "pressing" to get the one errant locking tab to engage. Difficulty can vary by season - winter is different than summer (shrinking dimensions with cold).

I'd send it back to Alpa and have it adjusted. Try rotating the back location and seeing if its the same prong or the locking mechanism.

PSon

I also have the same issue with the Cambo version for their cameras to fit the Leaf AFi 7 and the Sinar Hy6 digital backs.

mmbma

yeah, only the upper left prong doesn't fit.

I will take it to the dealer and go from there. good that I bought retail on this one

EH21

This is interesting to read, because Alpa normally has a very high standard.
I'd send it back for service myself.

mmbma