The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Cropping

GarethC

I'm really new to medium format (digital or film), having bought a 645Z about 3 weeks ago.

This thread is no more or less than idle chatter but it has struck me that unless everybody is cropping to retain the format, there is a definite lack of cropping of images. I've also noticed with my images that the format and dimensions appear to be more "natural" to me for framing an image than 35mm.

It's ironic that we have all these pixels to cut away and don't.

I'd be interested to read other people's views on it's my imagination and if it's not, why they think that is.

From my perspective, the format lends itself more readily to composition.

GregMO

I form my composition first & select my camera and focal length second. The need for cropping is very slight.
I have 645 & 690 cameras but prefer 617 & 5x7. Sometimes use 4x5 and 8x10. It depends on the image I'm after.

Shashin

Yes, I would say photographers find certain format easier to use than others, but I am not sure one format per se is easier than another. I think one of the great advantages for the mature film technology that we lost was a great choice of formats, especially in medium format.

I shoot full frame (the original meaning of the term: crop in the camera). One of the most important aspects in camera choice for me is format. While others use it brilliantly, I find the 3:2 aspect ratio of 35mm the hardest to use. I found 6x6 and 6x12 the easiest. It took me a while to come to terms with the 4:3, but I now like it.