Site Sponsors

Thread: iq250/iq260 residual value

Post Thanks / Like

iq250/iq260 residual value

Hi, I got a good trade offer on a digital back from my dealer.
    Both iq250 and Iq260 come with the same upgrade price
    I'm a landscape photographer.
    Both DBs have some limitations.
    Having a full frame sensor is a huge advantage but a bad performance at high iso is a big disadvantage.
    I'm having a hard time to choose.
    85% of shots I will probably be taking at a base ISO, but it would be great not to have limitations when it comes to windy conditions or shooting Aurora lights at night. There's always an option to have a second camera (D810) for extra 15% of situations, but you have to have an extra set of glass as well.
    Which DB do you think will have a better residual value lets say in 3 years?
    Regards,
    Evgueni
    Last edited by strok; 14th November 2014 at 06:10.

Workshop Member
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images

Re: iq250/iq260 residual value

I'd do a shoot with each of those backs and decide which one suits you better.

Residual value is worth considering but not nearly as important as "when you're using it" value.
    Doug Peterson , Digital Transitions | Email
    Dealer for: Phase One, Mamiya Leaf, Arca-Swiss, Cambo, Eizo, Profoto
    Office: 877.367.8537. Cell: 740.707.2183

Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images

Even as a landscape shooter you will always run into wind and having a higher ISO back will be helpful.
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

www.guymancusophotography.com

Post Thanks / Like

I've been going through the same dilemma and decided to lean towards the 250 more for the 14 stops of range and high ISO ability. Plus the battery life is much better among a few other things.