The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Hassy vs. Mamiya 7II

richardman

My goal is to have a more portable but "almost as good" alternative when I don't want to lug around the 4x5 or 617 view camera. I do not mind rangefinder since I have been using Leica for over 10 years.

I know that the Mamiya 7 does not do head & shoulder portraits or closer. I know that according to MTF etc., the Mamiya lens are better. The Mamiya kit will be lighter.

I know that the Hassy (501cm/503cm) is a more flexible system with more lens and portrait possibility, and also long (multiple hours even) exposures. It can use multiple backs.

I will use a tripod. Shooting mainly color neg film and some slides.

Given all that, the print size requirement is that it has to look good at 30x40 or even higher. I have a LS-9000 scanner and will pay for drum scan if needed.

Is the Hassy up to the task with respect to the print size requirement?

I actually used an Mamiya 7II for about a year, and also a 503CW for the same length of time, albeit only with a P25+ and not really the film back. My requirements were different then.

Comments and suggestions? Thanks

ondebanks

Richard,

Looks like you are well appraised of both systems.

You forgot to mention the type of subject matter you intend to shoot with it? That would help, to get targeted advice.

Ray

richardman

Ah, true. Although if it's on a tripod, it shouldn't matter much? :)

Landscapes/Cityscapes/Environmental Portraits. In fact, I just created this:
Richard Man Photography