Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: suggestions needed!

  1. #1
    Senior Member danlindberg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Spain & Sweden
    Posts
    1,196
    Post Thanks / Like

    suggestions needed!

    I've written to YaYa so I will get help, but I'm a little short on time (flying to Sweden Tuesday morning) and thought that the collective problemsolving people here might suggest something that I oversee.

    I did a series of 5 long exposures (40-50 seconds each), going at it as soon as the back was ready. All fine.

    The 6th turned up currupted. Ok, I thought that maybe I was stressing it without letting it cool down. So I waited a few minutes but same result. I realised it must be something else so I went home and I have tried a few things without getting a healthy capture.

    I changed to a fully charged battery.
    I changed to another CF card and formatted in back.
    I changed lens.
    No good.

    I changed to wakeup cable and changed from zero latency to normal. No good.

    I tried the FPS instead and tried yet another CF card. No good.

    I have firmware 2.03.3 and the back has 6000 exposures and I have never ever had a single issue!

    My logic says it is the CF card, but I have put in three different ones and formatted all. Same result.

    What could this be?
    Alpa FPS • MAX • TC | Alpagon 32Hr | Helvetar 75 | Schneider 120N | Leaf Aptus II 5 • Leaf Credo 60 | www.danlindberg.com

  2. #2
    Senior Member danlindberg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Spain & Sweden
    Posts
    1,196
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: suggestions needed!

    Just updated firmware to 3.0. Installation successful.

    Same currupted files!
    Alpa FPS • MAX • TC | Alpagon 32Hr | Helvetar 75 | Schneider 120N | Leaf Aptus II 5 • Leaf Credo 60 | www.danlindberg.com

  3. #3
    Subscriber Member jotloob's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    KEMPTEN / GERMANY
    Posts
    1,513
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    116

    Re: suggestions needed!

    Dan

    I have experienced very similar looking issues caused by a sync error .
    But I never used such long exposure times . I think , it is worth checking for that anyway . Just my 2 cents .
    Regards . Jόrgen .
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

  4. #4
    Senior Member danlindberg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Spain & Sweden
    Posts
    1,196
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: suggestions needed!

    Thanks Jurgen, but I have tried several exposure times, up to 1/125 and I have tried all iso settings.
    Unfortunately same result!
    Alpa FPS • MAX • TC | Alpagon 32Hr | Helvetar 75 | Schneider 120N | Leaf Aptus II 5 • Leaf Credo 60 | www.danlindberg.com

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Little Rock AR
    Posts
    1,926
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    3

    Re: suggestions needed!

    Sure looks like sync, but you have tried replacing all the cables.

    Do you have a 645 body you could put the back on, even though you tried the FPS, it would eliminate pretty much everything but the back itself.

    Sorry to see the problem and hope it gets resolved quickly.

    Paul

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Eads, Tennessee
    Posts
    1,033
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: suggestions needed!

    I also had the same issue caused by a bad cable. I have that cable marked as 'bad' and can re-attach it on occasion and repeat the same problem. For sure I would replace all cables from the lens to the back.

    Victor

  7. #7
    Senior Member danlindberg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Spain & Sweden
    Posts
    1,196
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: suggestions needed!

    No, I do not have a 645 body.

    Unfortunately I doubt that it is a particular cable.

    I obviously used my normal one, zero latency, when it happened first time.
    I changed to the two-piece wakeup cable for standard tech bodies.
    I changed to FPS with its own two-piece cable.

    All three variants gives me the same currupted file.

    Tried three different CF cards, each time formatted in back.
    Updated firmware yesterday to latest 3.0 without issue.
    Tried exposure times between 2s-1/125.
    Tried various iso settings.

    Still no clean file.......this is a little worrying...
    Alpa FPS • MAX • TC | Alpagon 32Hr | Helvetar 75 | Schneider 120N | Leaf Aptus II 5 • Leaf Credo 60 | www.danlindberg.com

  8. #8
    Senior Member ErikKaffehr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Nykφping Sweden
    Posts
    1,194
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: suggestions needed!

    Hi,

    Did you try "Restore to default" on the back? It's on page 79 of the Credo manuals. Removing battery for a minute may also cure some problems.

    Just a few ideas…

    On the other hand, checking your image the third time I start think about the CF card.

    Have you tried some tethered shooting? That should not involve the CF card.

    Best regards
    Erik




    Quote Originally Posted by danlindberg View Post
    No, I do not have a 645 body.

    Unfortunately I doubt that it is a particular cable.

    I obviously used my normal one, zero latency, when it happened first time.
    I changed to the two-piece wakeup cable for standard tech bodies.
    I changed to FPS with its own two-piece cable.

    All three variants gives me the same currupted file.

    Tried three different CF cards, each time formatted in back.
    Updated firmware yesterday to latest 3.0 without issue.
    Tried exposure times between 2s-1/125.
    Tried various iso settings.

    Still no clean file.......this is a little worrying...

  9. #9
    Senior Member danlindberg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Spain & Sweden
    Posts
    1,196
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: suggestions needed!

    Thanks for the suggestion Erik, no I hadn't tried restore to default. But I just did, and also took out the battery for a couple of minutes.

    Same bad result.
    Alpa FPS • MAX • TC | Alpagon 32Hr | Helvetar 75 | Schneider 120N | Leaf Aptus II 5 • Leaf Credo 60 | www.danlindberg.com

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    1,069
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    83

    Re: suggestions needed!

    Dan,

    take a look at this thread from a couple of years ago when I was having a similar issue with my Aptus II 12. As I recall, it was something to do with syncing the dark frame.

    http://www.getdpi.com/forum/medium-f...s-ii-80-a.html

  11. #11
    Member David Duffin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    77
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: suggestions needed!

    Dan,

    If the black lines appear in the same exact position each time you capture a frame I'd say, with all your trials and firmware replacement, that you've narrowed down the problem to a faulty back with a damaged sensor or associated circuitry.

    Yair should know, I'd send him a PM if you haven't already done so...

  12. #12
    Senior Member Jamgolf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    North Texas
    Posts
    516
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: suggestions needed!

    Dan

    Are you formatting the cards on a computer or on the DB itself? Might be worth a try to do it the opposite way.
    Also, have you changed any user settings on the back recently?

    FWIW, I've seen this type of behavior on a Pentax 645D when using a memory card that wasn't officially "supported". I had to revert to older/slower cards to eliminate the problem.

    This type of problem could be indicative of buffer overflow/underflow due to the read/write speed mismatch between memory card and the buffer. Typically a producer/consumer problem.

    -Jawad

  13. #13
    Senior Member danlindberg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Spain & Sweden
    Posts
    1,196
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: suggestions needed!

    I have not done anything unusual and it has worked reliably and without hickups since new, so this has come from nowhere.
    Anyway, thanks for input! I have put it in the safe for now, because now the time is up trying to fix it, leaving for Sweden tomorrow. Maybe it needs a holiday too

    Merry x-mas!
    Alpa FPS • MAX • TC | Alpagon 32Hr | Helvetar 75 | Schneider 120N | Leaf Aptus II 5 • Leaf Credo 60 | www.danlindberg.com

  14. #14
    Subscriber Member jotloob's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    KEMPTEN / GERMANY
    Posts
    1,513
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    116

    Re: suggestions needed!

    Dan

    You still have your APTUS 5 as a backup ? ? ? Hopefully .
    Have a good time .
    Regards . Jόrgen .
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •