Site Sponsors
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: CMOS Look, CCD Look in MF Sensors

Post Thanks / Like

CMOS Look, CCD Look in MF Sensors

Although I'm an amateur shooting 4 x 5 film, I have a curiosity about MF sensors, particularly as used on technical cameras. Thus, I've read with great interest the positive reviews on the new Sony CMOS backs, including in the Phase One IQ250. This review, from Digital Transitions, included image comparisons among the IQ250, IQ260, and IQ280:

Phase One IQ250 Tech Cam Testing - DT Blog

What struck me is the different look of the CMOS and CCD sensors (technical results aside). For lack of a better description, the CCD images seemed punchier and the CMOS images flatter, or duller. Yes, I know an amateur should not be judging sophisticated tools such as MF sensors at all, or on a computer screen, and using consumer-minded attributes such as "punch." But there did seem to me a noticeable difference and I wonder whether those more knowledgeable than I am have a view on whether there is an inherently different look to the CMOS images as compared to the CCD images or whether this is just a result of this one test or of the processing selected. Thanks.

Subscriber and Workshop Member MGrayson's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images

Re: CMOS Look, CCD Look in MF Sensors

Search the fora! There are lengthy and possibly inconclusive discussions of this very point.

For example, here.

Best,

Matt

Post Thanks / Like

It's hard to isolate exactly what the reason is, maybe it's a difference you see between the IQ250 and 260, but other implements of the Sony or Kodak or Dalsa sensors have different characteristics, and these too change depending on the software you process them in.

On the whole, I suppose your observation is close to the truth, CCD images tend to look more like the real thing out of the box, while CMOS output is very malleable, especially when it comes to shooting in anything other than ideal conditions.