The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Filters for Serous Landscape Work

glenerrolrd

Workshop Member
This season in South Florida ,my plans are to attempt some more serious landscape/seascape work with my Leica S system . I have easy access to some terrific shooting locations ,Juno Beach Pier,Everglades,Keys etc .

I have very little background in using filters for landscape with the exception of CIR POL to darken the sky . Quite a lot of experience with LR has allowed me to “skate by” without learning much about ND filters or alternatives .

I do try to shoot in the “blue period” dawn and the “golden hours” at dusk ....not too concerned about cutting exposures mid day .

Would be interested in the perspective from the many experts here that have “tried everything” ...what seems to work or not .

alvinjamur

big stopper + little stopper
0.3, 0.6, 0.9 hard edge nd and also the soft edge nd
110mm lee polarizer
81a

....are in my kit

darr

I recommend visiting the LEE Filters Video Library to see ND, Polarizers and other filters in action. Some of the better known landscape photographers (Joe Cornish, Steve Gosling, more) show you what filters they use and how they use them. Joe Cornish has always been an inspiration for me. :)

Kind regards,
Darr

Stuart Richardson