The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

IQ250 movement tests on the 23/32/40/70/90 - desaturation and mazing artifact

Q: Are you a pro, a dealer, or trying to sell your gear at a higher price?

A: None of the above. I am a tech geek, and by being honest to reveal all drawbacks I even risk selling my gear for less should I need to sell in the future. For such reason, dealers tend to hate me.

Q: Why CMOS?

A: Because:

a) Currently only the Sony CMOS (H5D-50C, H5D-200CMS, CFV-50C, IQ250, IQ150, Credo50, 645Z) can match up against the Nikon D800E / Sony A7R in terms of dynamic range. At pixel peeping level for high contrast scenes, the IQ280 and the IQ260 gets inferior image quality in the shadow when compared against the Nikon D800E / Sony A7R. If you are used to Canon you may not appreciate the Sony CMOS, but if you are used to Nikon / Sony you would definitely like the Sony CMOS!

b) Live View is usable in both bright and dark conditions for critical focus and composition without harassment.

c) The fab process of the Sony CMOS is mature enough to avoid tiling issues.

d) The Sony CMOS can turn off darkframe NR for long exposure shots with virtually no impact on image quality, allowing twice the chance to capture great light during sunset / sunrise when compared against all CCD sensors.

e) Higher usable ISO means handheld shots would be possible under certain situations.

Q: I am a fan of larger sensors. Why should I bother with a small crop sensor?