The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

MFD first impressions and starting wish list

smhoer

I am new to MF digital but not to MF. I started with 35mm and have used 645, 6x7, 617, and 4x5. I then went to digital with a Canon 1DsII system. I loved that system but was never happy with the size of the files versus MF or LF film. I finally took the plunge and have had my P45 refurb on an AFDII body now for a few weeks (Thanks Chris). I looked at all the MFD systems out there and settled on the Phamiya for many reasons. It was close between Phase One and Hassy. None of the others were in the running. I was impressed with the Hassy body but have always thought the lenses and accessories were very overpriced versus Pentax, Mamiya and Contax (yes I have owned all four systems). All have some stellar lenses and some dogs.

I have been testing my kit in the field in preparation for a trip to Big Sur in a couple weeks. I own the 35mm, 55-110, 105-210 and the 300MF ULD. I have been very pleased with the lenses and particularly the 35mm after using lens corrections in C1. The images from the P45 are wonderful and I provide excellent tonality and detail compared to my 1DsII. Overall I am very satisfied with all the equipment except the body.