The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Phase One News: XF Body, IQ3 backs, 35LS, 120LS, C1 8.3, Website

Mgreer316

Jeffery, I'm a photo tech geek. I got into photography because it allowed me to be a gearhead. So I'm well aware of all of the parameters of lenses, etc. I has the SK 150 2.8 non LS lens. Love that thing. But when I need to nail focus on the eye, I can't do it if for instance bangs of hair are near. Even if I don't recompose, the focus circle is so big you just don't know where the camera is going to grab. SO here you have this beautiful lens and back capable of capturing an awesome image, but the focus system won't let you do it reliably. So I end up capturing 10 images hoping that one will nail it.

Mgreer316

Have you tested a DF+?
I was willing. But after consulting with CI (and them being well aware of my issues), they convinced me that the + wouldn't solve my issues. So I didn't. BTW, that's when I fell into deep like with CI. They could've encouraged me to buy a new camera, but they knew it probably wouldn't solve my problem, so they advised against it. Much respect.

rhern213

That's understandable, I was lucky enough to replace my DF with the DF+ for no added cost in the used market and it was a good upgrade.

I suggest you still at least try to demo one somehow if you can. Maybe someone near you has one and is willing to let you test it You never know for sure if it'll work for you even if they advised you not to.