Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Capture One DB

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    1,587
    Post Thanks / Like

    Capture One DB

    I all,
    Just wondering, is Capture One DB still free to download and use for owners of Leaf Credo digital backs? Am in the process of acquiring, through a private sale with someone I know, and after years of research and patient deal searching, my very own Credo 60. All going to plan, I should see it in a few weeks. If possible, I'd like to download and install the DB software to see how it works before the back arrives. Problem is, I can't seem to find any logical links.
    Any advise appreciated!
    Thanks,
    TJV

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    1,587
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One DB

    Found it. Didn't realise it was part of the Pro download and not a seperate file. Now just got to brush up on C1 tools etc. It's been a while!

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    134
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One DB

    Also realize that your can process Credo files in Lightroom as well. I use C1 for tethering, but LR for processing. Why? Because I'm more proficient in LR, I prefer the LR workflow, and I don't see any significant difference in image quality between LR and C1. YMMV.
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    123
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One DB

    Quote Originally Posted by tjv View Post
    Found it. Didn't realise it was part of the Pro download and not a seperate file. Now just got to brush up on C1 tools etc. It's been a while!
    You'll see some changes then. I use the DB version, but fired up the free LE version I got with the M8 the other night, boy have we moved on. Incremental you don't notice but take a few steps back it's another planet.
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    36
    Post Thanks / Like

    Smile Re: Capture One DB

    This throws a lot of people, and Phase don't really make it that clear on their site when you go looking.

    There is only none "Version" of C1 at any one time. The difference is only in the Licence and what features are included for what you have paid.

    For example the DB version is free, but only works fully with a Phase or Leaf back. Pro works with pretty much anything, and the Sony version works with for example the A99 and the AptusII5 which I have, but it is all the same installer, which is where the confusion can start.

    What you get is controlled by the licence and there are various versions, DB, Pro, LE, Sony LE, Sony Pro.

    Cheers,
    Jason.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    1,587
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One DB

    I've processed some files already in LR, including using their LCC equivilent plug in. Great results, but keen to see the difference in processing between the programs for myself. I think the LCC stuff will be better done in C1, so I want to test that.
    Yes, the last time I used C1 was with the M8, so things are looking pretty crazy to me right now!

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    134
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One DB

    Quote Originally Posted by tjv View Post
    I've processed some files already in LR, including using their LCC equivilent plug in. Great results, but keen to see the difference in processing between the programs for myself.
    Absolutely. That's the only way it should be. I only brought it up because not everybody knows Lightroom supports medium format formats. It's always better to have more options and fewer.

    I think the LCC stuff will be better done in C1, so I want to test that.
    You would think. But I haven't found that to be the case. You'd think that Canon's DPP and Nikon's NX2 software would yield better results than LR or C1 on Canon and Nikon cameras, but they don't in practice. Not saying LR yields better results on Leaf files than C1 because it doesn't. IMO they yield equally great results. Some claim C1 yields better default renderings. That may be true. But I never use only default settings. Curious as to what you discover. So please report back.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •