The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Another newbie here

PoloDigital

I was pointed here by a fellow member of the Texas Photo Forum. I'm primarily a studio based portrait and glamour shooter trying to decide if I'm ready to jump into MF digital or just keep with the 35mm based Nikon system I've been using. Photography is not my income source, so I'm less concerned with ROI than I am with the technology.

I shoot RAW and process with ACR and Photoshop CS4 on the Macintosh platform. An example of my work with the D3 and 70-200mm f/2.8 VR is below.

I've been talking my local Phase One rep about the P21+ and P30+ digital backs for the 645 system. Of course I'll have to invest in new glass, but would hope to see a jump in quality similar or greater to my move from the crop sensor D200 to the D3.

Are there any other portrait/people shooters here that have invested in the Phase One systems mentioned? My budget isn't infinite, but I'm willing to spend enough to get going with MF.

My current gear is: Nikon D3, 24-70mm f/2.8G AF-S, 70-200mm f/2.8G VR, 135mm f/2.0 AiS, 300mm f/2.8D AF-S II. Gitzo CF tripod with RRS BH-55 and plates. Hensel Integra 500 Pro Plus lights and modifiers galore.

Thanks for any advice/pointers/links to research.

dougpeterson

Workshop Member
Since you're new I'll be extra clear up front: I work for a Phase One dealer in Miami so, like any of the other honest-but-biased vendors on the site feel free to take our advice with a grain of salt (even though we do try our best to be honest and helpful!).

================

You've come to right place to ask some hard questions.