Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 30 of 30

Thread: Advice on adding 7" monitor to IQ 100

  1. #1
    Senior Member alajuela's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Shanghai / Miami
    Posts
    552
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    124

    Advice on adding 7" monitor to IQ 100

    Has anybody had any experience and would like to offer advice on what would be the best monitor to use with an IQ 100. In terms contrast ratio, refresh rate, resolution and features.
    I have very little experience with video. The purpose of adding the monitor for me is to have a large, light, convenient screen to help in focusing on a tech camera
    Thanks , all advice opinions are welcome
    Phil
    Philip
    www.pg-pg.com
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

  2. #2
    Member Mitch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Cody, Wyoming Long Beach, Ca
    Posts
    91
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2

    Re: Advice on adding 7" monitor to IQ 100

    I have the IQ3-100 on order and after a lot of research ordered the SmallHD model 501 5" monitor. Their 7" monitors come highly recommended as well. Looking forward to useable focus confirmation using tilt on Rm3Di. Fooling around now with mounting schemes.

    Mitch
    Likes 2 Member(s) liked this post

  3. #3
    Senior Member alajuela's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Shanghai / Miami
    Posts
    552
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    124

    Re: Advice on adding 7" monitor to IQ 100

    Quote Originally Posted by Mitch View Post
    I have the IQ3-100 on order and after a lot of research ordered the SmallHD model 501 5" monitor. Their 7" monitors come highly recommended as well. Looking forward to useable focus confirmation using tilt on Rm3Di. Fooling around now with mounting schemes.

    Mitch
    Thanks Mitch I will check it out, any reason you went with the 501 instead or the 502?

    Thanks
    Phil

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    128
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    24

    Re: Advice on adding 7" monitor to IQ 100

    Would be interested in a mounting option for the Rm3Di also.

    Quote Originally Posted by Mitch View Post
    I have the IQ3-100 on order and after a lot of research ordered the SmallHD model 501 5" monitor. Their 7" monitors come highly recommended as well. Looking forward to useable focus confirmation using tilt on Rm3Di. Fooling around now with mounting schemes.

    Mitch

  5. #5
    Senior Member alajuela's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Shanghai / Miami
    Posts
    552
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    124

    Re: Advice on adding 7" monitor to IQ 100

    Quote Originally Posted by Mitch View Post
    I have the IQ3-100 on order and after a lot of research ordered the SmallHD model 501 5" monitor. Their 7" monitors come highly recommended as well. Looking forward to useable focus confirmation using tilt on Rm3Di. Fooling around now with mounting schemes.

    Mitch
    Hi Mitch
    I seems like the 5 series is similar in size to an iPhone 6 and the 7 series is similar to an iPhone 6plus
    Thanks
    Phil

  6. #6
    Senior Member kdphotography's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Carmel/Tucson
    Posts
    2,355
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Advice on adding 7" monitor to IQ 100

    You also might want to consider the Sidefinder accessory----which will help to eliminate glare in the field.

    There is a video on the site, https://www.smallhd.com/ that goes over some of the mounting possibilities for using their HDMI monitors.

    The hotshoe on a technical camera is of limited use (in my mind) to those of us that are *ahem* height challenged. Mounting the Sidefinder up high doesn't do much good. I'm interested in working with the Nato rail and cobbling something together using the mounts used for tethering with the Surface Pro. Light, small, and easy are the goals. I'll have a better idea at this years Capture Integration in Carmel----we should have a SmallHD monitor there I hear...

    ken

  7. #7
    Member Mitch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Cody, Wyoming Long Beach, Ca
    Posts
    91
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2

    Re: Advice on adding 7" monitor to IQ 100

    Phil--The 502 is more money and the only difference I see is the SDI connectivity, which is a video connection. Thought a lot about the 7" but opted for smaller/lighter. May buy the 7", try them both and sell the one I don't want to keep. SmallHD products are hot and, I assume easy to resell. Another feature I'm looking forward to is the monitor as waist level finder for tech cam. I'm too old to root around in the rocks on my hands and knees for a low camera angle.

    Ken, yes I did order the Sidefinder, but am suspicious that their fabric shade may be as good for what we do, but the sidefinder
    looked too cool to pass up. Hope it works.

    Mitch
    Thanks 1 Member(s) thanked for this post

  8. #8
    Subscriber and Workshop Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2,795
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Advice on adding 7" monitor to IQ 100

    If you want to focus in any condition the Zacuto Gratical is the only EVF worth considering ... 5" 7" any monitor will be degraded by
    contrasty light ... look at the reviews from those using video as pros ...


    Bob
    Thanks 1 Member(s) thanked for this post

  9. #9
    Senior Member alajuela's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Shanghai / Miami
    Posts
    552
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    124

    Re: Advice on adding 7" monitor to IQ 100

    Quote Originally Posted by docmoore View Post
    If you want to focus in any condition the Zacuto Gratical is the only EVF worth considering ... 5" 7" any monitor will be degraded by
    contrasty light ... look at the reviews from those using video as pros ...


    Bob
    Wow Bob, didn't know this existed!! A little over budget and was looking for some to use with my cambo and field camera with the IQ100.

    But should I take up video (would have to be next life) then this is really cool!!

    Thanks

    Phil

  10. #10
    Senior Member alajuela's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Shanghai / Miami
    Posts
    552
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    124

    Re: Advice on adding 7" monitor to IQ 100

    Quote Originally Posted by Mitch View Post
    Phil--The 502 is more money and the only difference I see is the SDI connectivity, which is a video connection. Thought a lot about the 7" but opted for smaller/lighter. May buy the 7", try them both and sell the one I don't want to keep. SmallHD products are hot and, I assume easy to resell. Another feature I'm looking forward to is the monitor as waist level finder for tech cam. I'm too old to root around in the rocks on my hands and knees for a low camera angle.

    Ken, yes I did order the Sidefinder, but am suspicious that their fabric shade may be as good for what we do, but the sidefinder
    looked too cool to pass up. Hope it works.

    Mitch
    Hi Mitch

    I am leaning towards the 501 package with the Sidefinder, - have this month +/- to decide before the IQ 100 comes in. If I can maintain the elusive self control and not pull the trigger before then

    The guys at CI also like this and as we age our load should get lighter; glad you steered me towards the 501 as opposed to the 702.

    Phil
    Philip
    www.pg-pg.com
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

  11. #11
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    4
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Advice on adding 7" monitor to IQ 100

    Note that a lot of these finders/viewers are a *lot* bigger than they appear on the web, and larger than we are used to in still photography. Don't get fooled by the pictures, even the smallHD with sidefinder is very large on any regular MF body. With video gear and all their mount/extras, they are ok, but for stills, it gets pretty weird looking, and heavy.

    There's a 5 or 7" video monitor on Amazon for about $117, I'd suggest trying that first, and see how you get along.
    Thanks 1 Member(s) thanked for this post

  12. #12
    Subscriber and Workshop Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2,795
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Advice on adding 7" monitor to IQ 100

    Quote Originally Posted by alajuela View Post
    Wow Bob, didn't know this existed!! A little over budget and was looking for some to use with my cambo and field camera with the IQ100.

    But should I take up video (would have to be next life) then this is really cool!!

    Thanks

    Phil
    Phil,

    The previous model is adequate for critical focus ... My trade-in mint condition is available here :

    http://www.camerawest.com/categories...roducts/14562/

    Bargain and I bought it as a close out from Zacuto in perfect condition.

    Bob
    Thanks 1 Member(s) thanked for this post

  13. #13
    Senior Member kdphotography's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Carmel/Tucson
    Posts
    2,355
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Advice on adding 7" monitor to IQ 100

    Quote Originally Posted by Peegeenyc View Post
    Note that a lot of these finders/viewers are a *lot* bigger than they appear on the web, and larger than we are used to in still photography. Don't get fooled by the pictures, even the smallHD with sidefinder is very large on any regular MF body. With video gear and all their mount/extras, they are ok, but for stills, it gets pretty weird looking, and heavy.

    There's a 5 or 7" video monitor on Amazon for about $117, I'd suggest trying that first, and see how you get along.
    My guess is that the resolution would not be sufficient on this listed monitor for critical focus. My second guess is that photographers that can afford the IQ3 100MP won't blink at spending $1,200 for a proper high res viewfinder/sidefinder from SmallHD-----this all in the context of technical cameras and lenses, with users not exactly known for their budget conscious decisions (compared to mere mortals using Nikon, Canon, et al) in the realm of Dante.

  14. #14
    Workshop Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Brooklyn
    Posts
    4,043
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1253

    Re: Advice on adding 7" monitor to IQ 100

    This needs to be personally evaluated
    I tried the 7" smarthd at digital transitions and it worked great, but that is a $1,400 item primarily targeted for video use. 7" is superior to 5", but ymmv
    I returned the smart hd and got a $500 less sophisticated monitor (elvid 7" rigvision) for use with the a7rII
    http://www.getdpi.com/forum/medium-f...os-hdmi-6.html

  15. #15
    Senior Member alajuela's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Shanghai / Miami
    Posts
    552
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    124

    Re: Advice on adding 7" monitor to IQ 100

    Quote Originally Posted by jlm View Post
    This needs to be personally evaluated
    I tried the 7" smarthd at digital transitions and it worked great, but that is a $1,400 item primarily targeted for video use. 7" is superior to 5", but ymmv
    I returned the smart hd and got a $500 less sophisticated monitor (elvid 7" rigvision) for use with the a7rII
    http://www.getdpi.com/forum/medium-f...os-hdmi-6.html
    Hi

    Why do you feel the 7" is superior to the 5" ?

    Do you shot video? If so did that sway your choice. In this case I am a one trick pony - only stills

    This is to serve a a focus aid - (I need all the help I can get at the moment) for tech camera and as a bonus as Ken pointed out convenient at odd angles.

    Thanks

    Phil

  16. #16
    New Member Stephan S's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    8
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Advice on adding 7" monitor to IQ 100

    Quote Originally Posted by kdphotography View Post
    My guess is that the resolution would not be sufficient on this listed monitor for critical focus. My second guess is that photographers that can afford the IQ3 100MP won't blink at spending $1,200 for a proper high res viewfinder/sidefinder from SmallHD-----this all in the context of technical cameras and lenses, with users not exactly known for their budget conscious decisions (compared to mere mortals using Nikon, Canon, et al) in the realm of Dante.
    Ken, how does the 7" monitor compare to your Surface Pro workflow? At first glance it seems like the Surface Pro would have more functionality being tethered and the monitor would have the benefit of working without worrying about a lost tethered connection. Not sure about weight, quickness to focus and setup? I can't imagine needing both. Would be great to hear your thoughts on a comparison.
    Stephan
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

  17. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    1,198
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Advice on adding 7" monitor to IQ 100

    Unless I totally missed something from the demo and brief hands-on, I personally can't see the point of using the HDMI output for checking focus.

    It only allows you to either see the full sensor, or a 100% crop of the middle of the sensor.

    Or did I, the Phase One dealer, and the regional sales manager from Phase One all miss something?

    Kind regards,

    Gerald.
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

  18. #18
    Senior Member kdphotography's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Carmel/Tucson
    Posts
    2,355
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Advice on adding 7" monitor to IQ 100

    I received my SmallHD 501 5" HDMI monitor with the Sidefinder option. Expensive but the Sidefinder option to eliminate potential glare issues in the field is worthwhile.

    In a nutshell, the HDMI monitor option is a winner for composition and focusing with a technical camera. If you need more, then USB3 tethering with a Surface Pro offers more software processing, but live view still remains easier via HDMI monitor. For me, the SmallHD 501 option is smaller, lighter, easier to use, and pack along than the Surface Pro. With Focus Assist on the SmallHD 501, it is super easy to manually focus a tech cam. You can select the color and sensitivity of the Focus Assist. Think of it as similar to Phase One's Focus Mask, except now you can focus in live view (as opposed to shoot, check focus mask, refocus, shoot again).

    I've borrowed from my clamping efforts with the Surface Pro and come up with a pretty good (imo) option for the SmallHD with Sidefinder. With a tech cam on tripod at full extension, I did not want to use the hotshoe or a mass of adjustable arms to lower the finder to viewing height. Simple nanoclamp with quick release plates allows plenty of movements and a secure attachment for the monitor and sidefinder.

    Ken

  19. #19
    Member Mitch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Cody, Wyoming Long Beach, Ca
    Posts
    91
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2

    Re: Advice on adding 7" monitor to IQ 100

    Ken--
    I have the same 501/Sidefinder. Haven't had a chance to use it yet except hand-holding the 501 'tethered' to the back by 36" HDMI. Actually works great that way with the camera down at knee level. Any chance you can post pictures of your mounting set-up?
    Mitch

  20. #20
    Senior Member kdphotography's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Carmel/Tucson
    Posts
    2,355
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Advice on adding 7" monitor to IQ 100

    This is a quick phone shot posted in another thread of my 501/Sidefinder set-up on my RRS tripod with Cambo. A small turn of the ball head knob and I can adjust the angle of the Sidefinder as desired. Nothing fancy, but it is easy and works. I'll be changing over to a coiled HDMI cord or a retractable cord to keep things neater and smaller in the pack.

    kenClick image for larger version. 

Name:	2016-03-01 21.04.12.jpg 
Views:	34 
Size:	181.7 KB 
ID:	116904

  21. #21
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Eads, Tennessee
    Posts
    1,033
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Advice on adding 7" monitor to IQ 100

    Quote Originally Posted by gerald.d View Post
    Unless I totally missed something from the demo and brief hands-on, I personally can't see the point of using the HDMI output for checking focus.

    It only allows you to either see the full sensor, or a 100% crop of the middle of the sensor.

    Or did I, the Phase One dealer, and the regional sales manager from Phase One all miss something?

    Kind regards,

    Gerald.
    +1...... A very good question. If 100% crop can't be manipulated on the HDMI screen then what good is it?

    Victor

  22. #22
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Munich
    Posts
    876
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1

    Re: Advice on adding 7" monitor to IQ 100

    Quote Originally Posted by vjbelle View Post
    +1...... A very good question. If 100% crop can't be manipulated on the HDMI screen then what good is it?

    Victor
    +1 as well. Focus peaking is nice but for 100% critical focus with such a back I need 100% pixel level focusing.

  23. #23
    Workshop Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Brooklyn
    Posts
    4,043
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1253

    Re: Advice on adding 7" monitor to IQ 100

    i'm still messing around with my hdmi 7" monitor on the sony a7rII, but if the camera's lcd can show 100% with a selectable frame, so can the monitor. i'm hesitant, because i have only been using the monitor to display the lcd display, which i believe may be different from the hdmi image itself

  24. #24
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    7
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Advice on adding 7" monitor to IQ 100

    Quote Originally Posted by jlm View Post
    i'm still messing around with my hdmi 7" monitor on the sony a7rII, but if the camera's lcd can show 100% with a selectable frame, so can the monitor. i'm hesitant, because i have only been using the monitor to display the lcd display, which i believe may be different from the hdmi image itself
    Could you test one thing for me please? If your a7rii is connected to your hdmi monitor in stills mode, does your monitor show a more detailed image than your rear lcd screen? I'm asking because with my a7 connected to an hdmi monitor, the resolution of the image seems to be the same 640*480 of my rear lcd screen. Only when recording video does the hdmi signal switch to 1080. This may not be a problem for the video people the high res monitors are aimed at, but it is to me, shooting stills. Can you confirm the a7rii does the same thing, or perhaps I'm doing something wrong?

  25. #25
    Workshop Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Brooklyn
    Posts
    4,043
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1253

    Re: Advice on adding 7" monitor to IQ 100

    that is exactly what i need to determine

  26. #26
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    1,198
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Advice on adding 7" monitor to IQ 100

    Quote Originally Posted by Christopher View Post
    +1 as well. Focus peaking is nice but for 100% critical focus with such a back I need 100% pixel level focusing.
    From my - admittedly brief 2 day - test of the IQ3 100, I wouldn't buy it over the IQ3 80 based on the potential for using the 100's HDMI output for focus confirmation.

    I can nail focus using live view for macro photography using the regular on-back live view of the IQ3 80 when the depth of field is of the order of 0.5mm. What's critical of course is that I can do that across the entire frame. I could not nail focus using HDMI.

    This is not intended as a criticism of the 100. Far from it. It just doesn't deliver any benefits for this scenario.

    Where it does have huge benefits is for aerial photography. We will be testing a Phase One aerial camera in a Shotover next week. The ability to have a live view from the back and capture a true "WYSIWYG" image will be - I am anticipating - immense.

    Kind regards,

    Gerald.

  27. #27
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Munich
    Posts
    876
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1

    Re: Advice on adding 7" monitor to IQ 100

    Well, the CMOS live view is great! It can't be compared to the crappy IQ180 live view of one can really call it that.

    However, I do not get the fuss over external displays. The IQ screen isn't to bad.

    I would need something like real 100% pixel level focusing for even bothering with an external display.

  28. #28
    Senior Member kdphotography's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Carmel/Tucson
    Posts
    2,355
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Advice on adding 7" monitor to IQ 100

    I don't think HDMI output is a reason to upgrade either. But it is a nice add-on and provides more options/alternatives/tools for the end user. For me, I'm looking for cleaner image quality at slightly higher ISO making it easier to balance out ambient light with studio lights. This is not to say it can't be done with the CCD backs, but the CMOS sensor is going to make it easier with a broader (usable) ISO range.

    ken

  29. #29
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Eads, Tennessee
    Posts
    1,033
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Advice on adding 7" monitor to IQ 100

    FWIW, I can't imagine any scenario where a CMOS back, either FF or CF, wouldn't be significantly better than its CCD counterpart for live view. Faster, easier, more accurate are pluses that come immediately to me..... and this is from my extensive use of both CCD and CMOS backs. Whether an HDMI out elevates this experience is a little dubious. There may be a benefit or two but the LCD screen gets me there fast and I don't have to carry around extra stuff - which is the biggest benefit of all. A small Peak loupe is all I need for quick accurate focus at any focal length.

    Victor

  30. #30
    Senior Member kdphotography's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Carmel/Tucson
    Posts
    2,355
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Advice on adding 7" monitor to IQ 100

    Hands-down live view with CMOS trumps CCD's version of live view. But this isn't to say that focusing by other means on the IQ is not good either---focus mask and zooming in works well. It wasn't that long ago that the IQ platform was announced and the new screen was the cat's meow. But tech consumers that we are---now you hear grumblings for a better screen yet. I'm not one of those grumblers, as I know the fault lies with me and not with Phase. So last year I got my first pair of bifocals. My eyes are healthy but aging. And that HDMI monitor does look good....

    In the end, it's about having options.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •