The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Camera shake/focus

Chapel

I recently got a Mamiya AFDII with a Sinar 54m 22mp back. My pictures and files seemed nice, smooth, sharp with good depth. The problem with the Sinar back is it only works tethered so I bought a Leaf Aptus II-8 40mp, from Ben off this site so I could carry around my camera easier on photowalks with my wife (As opposed to my easy to use Leica). I'm just an amateur but I do submit some pictures to a couple of stock companies for the challenge. I have noticed that even on a tripod its harder for me to get the nice sharp pleasing pictures with my Leaf like I could with my Sinar. I was wondering if this could be because of the higher pixel count seeing more resolution? Or what? Not all my pictures with the Leaf are bad just a higher percentage than with the Sinar.
Any ideas?

Thanks
Greg

dougpeterson

Workshop Member
For a high jumper to clear a 4 foot pole requires minimal effort. Any pair of shoes will do, any technique, and he can even be a bit hungover.
For the same high jumper to clear an 8 foot pole requires more effort. Every detail of the technical execution matters.

Or put differently... If you want 40 sharp megapixels your technique (e.g. min shutter speed, how you hold the camera) matters a lot more than if you want 20 megapixels.

I'd recommend speaking with your dealer about what equipment and techniques might help. Helping you get the most out of your gear is literally their job! If that's us feel free to reach us by email, phone, text, Facebook etc!

Chapel