Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Capture One 9.1.1 Crashes all the time!!!

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Shanghai
    Posts
    163
    Post Thanks / Like

    Capture One 9.1.1 Crashes all the time!!!

    I am running a Mac Pro 6 core version and El Capitan OS. When I tried to do colour edits pick and create mask, the C1 will crash out. It does not do that to all files, it do it to bigger files from my credo 50 but not sony's A7r2. It works fine on some IIQ files from IQ3 100mp files. And now I notice some of the older files that I upgraded from version 8 catalog to 9 will also have problem.

    Is this a known issue? Is there a fix?

    Please help~~

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    581
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2

    Re: Capture One 9.1.1 Crashes all the time!!!

    9.1.1 has all sorts of problems. Back off to the previous release if you can. It would be worth checking on the Phase forum to see if your problem has been reported.
    Cheers,
    Jeff
    www.jeff-grant.com

  3. #3
    Senior Member RVB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Amsterdam
    Posts
    807
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One 9.1.1 Crashes all the time!!!

    Quote Originally Posted by kimyeesan View Post
    I am running a Mac Pro 6 core version and El Capitan OS. When I tried to do colour edits pick and create mask, the C1 will crash out. It does not do that to all files, it do it to bigger files from my credo 50 but not sony's A7r2. It works fine on some IIQ files from IQ3 100mp files. And now I notice some of the older files that I upgraded from version 8 catalog to 9 will also have problem.

    Is this a known issue? Is there a fix?

    Please help~~
    Have you tried trashing the preference files and restarting the app??

    Rob

  4. #4
    Senior Member Hulyss Bowman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    1,085
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One 9.1.1 Crashes all the time!!!

    C1 9.1.1 can be unstable when too much memory used. On windows it give you a warning on low memory computers or when you start to crunch too much memory i.e when you run multiple programs with allocated memory usage such as PS. Do you have PS open ?

    I recommend at least 16GB of good DDR (4) to be comfortable at editing large files from 40 to 80 MP.
    Kind regards - Hulyss - hulyssbowman.com

  5. #5
    Senior Member RVB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Amsterdam
    Posts
    807
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One 9.1.1 Crashes all the time!!!

    Quote Originally Posted by Hulyss Bowman View Post
    C1 9.1.1 can be unstable when too much memory used. On windows it give you a warning on low memory computers or when you start to crunch too much memory i.e when you run multiple programs with allocated memory usage such as PS. Do you have PS open ?

    I recommend at least 16GB of good DDR (4) to be comfortable at editing large files from 40 to 80 MP.
    Do you think hardware acceleration could have something to do with this? Thats if it's enabled?

  6. #6
    Senior Member Hulyss Bowman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    1,085
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One 9.1.1 Crashes all the time!!!

    Quote Originally Posted by RVB View Post
    Do you think hardware acceleration could have something to do with this? Thats if it's enabled?
    Maybe. It really depend of your graphic card, embed memory on the graphic card, your CPU and your total RAM. C1 use OpenCL and I think it is disabled by default on fresh install. The best way to know is to try it out. Hardware acceleration work best with modern graphic cards with at least 2GB of memory. I personally use a quadro K2000 but this isn't really necessary for photography only. Per say, a simple Geforce GT 610 with 2GO is more than sufficient (but you need good proc and Ram behind).
    Kind regards - Hulyss - hulyssbowman.com

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Shanghai
    Posts
    163
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One 9.1.1 Crashes all the time!!!

    I think I found the fix. Have to turn off the OpenCL. I work fine now.
    I am running Mac Pro with 32gb ram and ATI FirePro D500 3gb

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •