The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

ETTR (underexposure) help sought

tjv

Hi all,
I just wanted to apologise for not replying to the thread - being the original poster - I've been hectic at work and home. Thanks all for contributing knowledge and info. I will post some of the things I've learnt when the can steal some time...

torger

I'm no expert on Ligthroom but as far as I know the automatic black level adjustment is controlled via the DNG camera profile, via the DefaultBlackRender tag. If it exists and is set to "None", no automatic black level subtraction is made. This is the default for profiles made with my own DCamProf camera profile maker which makes shadows lighter. AFAIK all bundled profiles in Lightroom lacks it and thus get this adjustment.

I didn't think there was a white level adjustment, but I can't say I have verified it either.

I do know that over-exposed shots with lots of clipping is pre-processed in a special way to look more similar to overexposed film (brightened, desaturated), as over-exposed digital locks pretty ugly. This makes it a bit messy to make a HDR merge of say TIFFs output from Lightroom, it's then better to merge at the raw level as Lumariver HDR does for example.

In any case you can't really trust the big name raw converters to "not do anything" when sliders aren't moved. So tools like RawDigger or a "scientific style" raw converter like RawTherapee can be a good complement when one wants to really see what's in the file.