The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Some reflections on my V-series Hasselblad/P45 kit…

Geoff

Erik -

At the risk of continuing down a road long travelled, can I ask a few questions, please?

- why not try one of the different 40mm lenses? Regardless of the MTF charts, it is likely there are better examples out there.
- given your rather neutral, or even not-so-happy experience with your MF camera setup, why so much interest in its performance?
- if there is a particular interest in seeing if it can be improved, might you consider Jack's suggestion of C1v9?

torger

I'm a professional engineer and an amateur artist (some of my work can be seen here: http://linhof.com/en/portfolio/anders-torger-geometric-chaos/ ), so approach camera gear from both technical and artistic aspects.

When it comes to P45+ and Capture One, what it makes better than say LR is 1) well-tuned noise reduction that increases apparent dynamic range, 2) demosaicing which is better at avoiding aliasing artifacts, and 3) well-designed color profiles, although heavily subjective.

Both Phase One and Leaf have chosen to make highly subjective color, while Hasselblad has more neutral rendition. It's fine, and it's a matter of taste what you prefer. I prefer Hasselblad's approach, but as I make my own color profiles it doesn't really matter to me which manufacturer I use. I wouldn't talk about "color fidelity" when it comes to Phase One, but rather "pleasing subjective color". Adobe's profiles aren't as well-designed generally, but many apply heavy post-processing in any case and find LR be perfectly workable.