Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: XF and 120mm Macro MF issue?

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    North Sweden
    Posts
    1,385
    Post Thanks / Like

    XF and 120mm Macro MF issue?

    Morning all.

    I have just received a 120mm Macro MF lens, mounted it on the XF and I get the following..



    I also get this...



    I have tried the normal stuff, cleaned the contacts on the lens, removed batteries and restarted etc. All my other lenses are working fine. I have emailed my dealer but I believe he's on holiday this week so a quick question to those of you who may have seen or experienced this before? Is the lens likely to be dead or something else I am overlooking? I contacted the dealer I bought the lens from and they said it was checked as working so before I return it, just thought I'd ask, it may be something simple!

    Thanks in advance.

    Mat

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    North Sweden
    Posts
    1,385
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: XF and 120mm Macro MF issue?

    Got an answer, just in case anyone has a similar issue in the future!

    Although it was sold as 16 bit, it is the older 4 bit version which can be an issue on the XF and would require an update to the circuit board to work properly. I will just return it!

    Mat
    http://matrichardson.com/
    Workshops for 2018! http://www.matrichardson.com/workshops
    Thanks 2 Member(s) thanked for this post

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Little Rock AR
    Posts
    1,895
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: XF and 120mm Macro MF issue?

    Matt, thanks for the info, sorry to see the problem. I did not know that the some of the older 120mm lenses would not work.

    Paul C

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    2,028
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1

    Re: XF and 120mm Macro MF issue?

    On a tutorial I heard that lenses prior to 2008 (might have the year wrong, but somewhere around that) will not transmit data to the XF.

    It was either a Phase video or Doug's focus stacking video.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    North Sweden
    Posts
    1,385
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: XF and 120mm Macro MF issue?

    I believe that the older 120 with an aperture ring will work if used under the manual lens setting, but as this one has no aperture ring, it requires communication with the body. Apparently there are some that work and some that don't, I can send it off to get the electronics updated but hardly seems worth the hassle for such a cheap lens.

    Cheers

    Mat

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Richmond Va
    Posts
    62
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: XF and 120mm Macro MF issue?

    I believe the lenses that were updated for digital have an extra 2 pin connectors on the mount.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    North Sweden
    Posts
    1,385
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: XF and 120mm Macro MF issue?

    Yes, I believe you are correct, extra pins for the 16 bit D version which works. According to Phase, there was a problem with the XF and 4 bit lenses which was apparently solved in the most recent firmware update but that's not the case for the lens I have here. Shame, it's in excellent condition!

    Mat

  8. #8
    Member Oamkumar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Kochi, India
    Posts
    88
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: XF and 120mm Macro MF issue?

    I had issues with MF version of 120D lens when it is attached to the DF+ body. Changed 3 lenses and got the same issue with all of them. Aparture ring sometimes get stuck and will not go back. (not always, but especially when I use live view.). Finally I bought the AF version and so far no probs. Compared MF and AF versions and AF is better in the corners. Both are almost equal in the centre.
    Phaseone DF+, Leaf Credo 60
    www.oamkumarthottungal.com

  9. #9
    Member ejpeiker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Chandler, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    176
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: XF and 120mm Macro MF issue?

    I can't for the life of me find that Status screen on my XF - how did you get to that screen? It doesn't even show up in Phase One's own published menu tree for the camera.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    North Sweden
    Posts
    1,385
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: XF and 120mm Macro MF issue?

    I don't think the screen is accessible normally, I think it's just part of the internal checking process on start up and only displays if there is an issue. I didn't access it from the camera, it just appeared.

    Mat
    http://matrichardson.com/
    Workshops for 2018! http://www.matrichardson.com/workshops
    Thanks 1 Member(s) thanked for this post
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

  11. #11
    Member ejpeiker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Chandler, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    176
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: XF and 120mm Macro MF issue?

    Ah OK, thought I was losing my mind! Thanks

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    2,028
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1

    Re: XF and 120mm Macro MF issue?

    I can't remember exactly, but I think holding down the battery check can give you that screen.

  13. #13
    Member ejpeiker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Chandler, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    176
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: XF and 120mm Macro MF issue?

    Quote Originally Posted by algrove View Post
    I can't remember exactly, but I think holding down the battery check can give you that screen.
    Ah, actually it's a tap of the battery icon that brings up that screen. Cool, thanks for helping me figure this out!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •