Site Sponsors
Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 3 4 5
Results 201 to 223 of 223

Thread: S2 and my impressions.

  1. #201
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Reykjavik, Iceland
    Posts
    2,310
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    9

    Re: S2 and my impressions.

    Yes, what Keith said!
    My photos are here: http://www.stuartrichardson.com and more recent work here: http://stuartrichardson.tumblr.com/ Please have a look at my book!
    My lab is here: http://www.customphotolab.is and on facebook

  2. #202
    Workshop Member ptomsu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Austria, close to Vienna
    Posts
    3,871
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: S2 and my impressions.

    Quote Originally Posted by KeithL View Post
    Jürgen, the resolution of the scan varies between scanners. For instance most of my drum scans are supplied to me at 4,000 pixels/inch.

    The important point is when finalising your print file and sizes you need to use 'Image Size' in Photoshop and set the resolution to 360 pixels/inch (or divisibles) before sending to the printer.

    Keith
    Thanks for that tip Keith! Will do this for the prints I deliver to my printer from now on.

  3. #203
    Subscriber Member jotloob's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    KEMPTEN / GERMANY
    Posts
    1,513
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    116

    Re: S2 and my impressions.

    Quote Originally Posted by KeithL View Post
    Jürgen, the resolution of the scan varies between scanners. For instance most of my drum scans are supplied to me at 4,000 pixels/inch.
    The important point is when finalising your print file and sizes you need to use 'Image Size' in Photoshop and set the resolution to 360 pixels/inch (or divisibles) before sending to the printer.
    Keith
    Keith

    When I do scans on my ATRIXSCAN F1 , I set the "printer resolution" to 360dpi . (I never used any different value) . Pressing the ctrl key on my keyboard then shows me in the same field the resulting scan resolution . In most cases , it is 2400ppi , for the scanwork I do and the negative sizes I scan . When scanning LF 4x5 negatives , the "printer resolution" is set to 1800ppi . The smaller the negative , the higher the scanner resolution . This is done by the scanner software , which checks the film size during initialization . I use SILVERFAST Ai studio .

    I do not understand , why the professional LAB does set the "printer resolution" to 300dpi . I will give them a call today , and post the answer .

    Jürgen

  4. #204
    Senior Member KeithL's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    832
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: S2 and my impressions.

    Jürgen

    I'm afraid you've completely lost me there!

    Let me try to explain my own position again. I always scan or have third party scans made at the native resolution of the scanner. This varies between scanners (and film formats) but typically would be 4000 pixels inch for a 6x6 drumscan. When finalising my print files I resize them and save them at the optimum resolution for the printer, typically 360 pixels/inch for Epson printers. When using third party printing services I save the files at the optimum resolution for the third party printer, again this varies depending on the type of printer used.

    A word of warning, like most things in life, the 'Image Size' dialog in Photoshop is easy enough to understand and use if you know how to use it, but if you don't then it's all too easy to misunderstand and misuse!

    Of course the print output resolution is an entirely different matter and depends on the printer and paper/ink combination used. Typically I would print at 1440 dots/inch using Epson printers and fine art matte papers.

    Hope this helps rather than confuses!

    Keith

  5. #205
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    carstenw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Posts
    2,530
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: S2 and my impressions.

    It is not serious though. No matter the printing resolution set for the file, there is the same number of pixels, and the value is just a number in the header of the file, which you can change later to fit your printer. The only exception would be if the printer adjusts its scanning resolution to be a multiple of the desired print resolution, as the Atrixscan F1 seems to do. Then you might get a non-divisible resolution, and the final result would have to be interpolated to be printed. I don't know how a given scanner scans differently to get different dpi values. Does it step the motor differently?
    Carsten - Website

  6. #206
    Senior Member KeithL's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    832
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: S2 and my impressions.

    I should add that the reason that I finalise the print files when using third party services rather than leaving it to them is because all too many of the services haven't a bloody clue

  7. #207
    Subscriber Member jotloob's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    KEMPTEN / GERMANY
    Posts
    1,513
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    116

    Re: S2 and my impressions.

    Quote Originally Posted by KeithL View Post
    Jürgen
    I'm afraid you've completely lost me there !
    Keith
    Keith

    No I have not lost you there at all .
    The words of confusion are , that I used "printing solution" , but did not mean printer solution as used by EPSON , 2880 or 1440 .
    So I confused you and others . Hopefully not too much . Sorry .

    So you help me please in getting the correct word for the 360dpi the scan has . What is the correct word for that 360dpi resolution .

    Summary : I scan a 6x12 negative at a scanner resolution of 2400ppi .
    I have choosen , that the scan shall have 360dpi (that in turn results in 2400ppi for the scanner) and print my image at a resolution of say 1440 or 2880 after reworking the image with PS .

  8. #208
    Senior Member KeithL's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    832
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: S2 and my impressions.

    Quote Originally Posted by jotloob View Post
    Keith
    Summary : I scan a 6x12 negative at a scanner resolution of 2400ppi .
    I have choosen , that the scan shall have 360dpi (that in turn results in 2400ppi for the scanner) and print my image at a resolution of say 1440 or 2880 after reworking the image with PS .
    Jürgen

    Sorry, but I'm still confused (this is no critisism of you).

    I understand that you are scanning your negative at 2400 pixels/inch and that you are printing your image at 1440 or 2880 dots/inch. The bit I don't understand is as follows:- "I have choosen , that the scan shall have 360dpi (that in turn results in 2400ppi for the scanner)"

    ?

    Keith

  9. #209
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Reykjavik, Iceland
    Posts
    2,310
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    9

    Re: S2 and my impressions.

    I think I understand. My scanner also does this -- instead of deciding what ppi to scan at, you can set the "dpi" directly in the scan software, and it will scan at whatever ppi is required to achieve that dpi! It sounds a lot more confusing than it is. So instead of converting to that dpi later in photoshop, you are actually making the scan based on the dpi you want for the output, rather than making as big a scan as possible and then downsizing or upsizing to the require dpi in photoshop.
    My photos are here: http://www.stuartrichardson.com and more recent work here: http://stuartrichardson.tumblr.com/ Please have a look at my book!
    My lab is here: http://www.customphotolab.is and on facebook

  10. #210
    Subscriber Member jotloob's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    KEMPTEN / GERMANY
    Posts
    1,513
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    116

    Re: S2 and my impressions.

    Quote Originally Posted by KeithL View Post
    Jürgen

    Sorry, but I'm still confused (this is no critisism of you).
    I understand that you are scanning your negative at 2400 pixels/inch and that you are printing your image at 1440 or 2880 dots/inch. The bit I don't understand is as follows:- "I have choosen , that the scan shall have 360dpi (that in turn results in 2400ppi for the scanner)"
    ?
    Keith
    Keith
    Now you got me . NO ! ! !
    You made me get out the SILVER FAST Manual . Unfortunately , it is the german manual . I will try to get a download of an english version .

    But one thing is for shure , and it is explicitly written in the manual , that different scanner software and also PSCS as well as printer manufacturer use a different terminology for one and the same thing .
    The expressions : ppi , lpi , dpi , spi and quality factor are the ones . And that makes the understanding confusing and difficult .
    BTW SilverFast people claim to be one of these confusors , because they look at scanning from the industrial printing buisness side .
    That of course is not a great help here .

    So I do not see much sense , to explain that mysterious figure 360dpi now , but according to the Silverfast terminology it is the result of a quality factor of 1,5 and a raster of 240lpi . 1,5x240=360 . 360 now called dpi .They call it output resolution .
    All very confusing .

    I will do some further study , but can only talk from the SF Ai s point of view .

    Jürgen

  11. #211
    Senior Member KeithL's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    832
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: S2 and my impressions.

    Quote Originally Posted by Stuart Richardson View Post
    I think I understand.
    Jürgen, I think Stuart has solved the mystery!

    Stuart/Jürgen, I prefer to make a full size 'master preprint file' and then base all of the subsequent files - whether they are for print or press - on this master file. Whatever the use it's then a simple matter of resizing before printing or sending to clients for press.

    Keith

  12. #212
    Workshop Member ptomsu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Austria, close to Vienna
    Posts
    3,871
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: S2 and my impressions.

    Quote Originally Posted by KeithL View Post
    Jürgen, I think Stuart has solved the mystery!

    Stuart/Jürgen, I prefer to make a full size 'master preprint file' and then base all of the subsequent files - whether they are for print or press - on this master file. Whatever the use it's then a simple matter of resizing before printing or sending to clients for press.

    Keith
    Actually what I do!

    1) Scanning with maximum resolution without any care for the print.

    2) Retouching the file and do all corrections and have it saved.

    3) Convert to actual image size and preferred DPI just before printing - just on the demand of the printer.

    Seems to be the most straight forward and clear procedd

  13. #213
    Workshop Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    420
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: S2 and my impressions.

    Quote Originally Posted by ptomsu View Post
    Actually what I do!

    1) Scanning with maximum resolution without any care for the print.

    2) Retouching the file and do all corrections and have it saved.

    3) Convert to actual image size and preferred DPI just before printing - just on the demand of the printer.

    Seems to be the most straight forward and clear procedd
    Ditto!

  14. #214
    Subscriber Member jotloob's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    KEMPTEN / GERMANY
    Posts
    1,513
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    116

    Re: S2 and my impressions.

    Peter

    That is almost exactly my workflow .
    Except that I do not scan with the maximum resolution , but with the resolution calculated by SILVER FAST for my maximum print size , my printers can do .

    I name the first scan the alpha scan (@scan) , from there I produce an alpha work file
    (@work) and after that a final version , which then can be used for the different print sizes . As disk storage is currently quit cheap , the file sizes dont bother me at all .

    Jürgen

  15. #215
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Royal Oak, MI and Palm Harbor, FL
    Posts
    8,498
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    44

    Re: S2 and my impressions.

    Quote Originally Posted by harmsr View Post
    Ditto!
    Ditto X2!

  16. #216
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1,513
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: S2 and my impressions.

    I concur that is the way to go. By scanning at max resolution, you get a file that will let you do whatever your want now and later, like maybe if your printers change ;-) Rather than scan, and rescan later if needed, you get one good master file that will provide you with whatever you may need later. As you say, since storage is pretty cheap, this is not as big an issue.

    LJ

  17. #217
    Senior Member KeithL's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    832
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: S2 and my impressions.

    Quote Originally Posted by LJL View Post
    I concur that is the way to go.
    Ah, harmony

  18. #218
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Almere, The Netherlands
    Posts
    36
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: S2 and my impressions.

    Quote Originally Posted by KeithL View Post
    Ah, harmony
    Is'nt it Great.

    I do a lot of scanning, simply on maximum resolution and colordepth. One never knows what future use the file can bring. Finalise the resulting image in color-correct, contrast, etc. When done save as master, and from master do any derivation: print, web etc.
    Works fine, no issues yet when sending a file to the printer regardless of the resulting DPI. Works ok with PWP, looks ok with LightRoom(just in the process of testing out LightRoom), also on a professional imaging show using Epson it worked fine.

    IQ is Technology, PQ is YOU

    Jan R.

  19. #219
    Rafa
    Guest

    Re: S2 and my impressions.

    That's also my workflow.
    I have also found that, for my eyes at least, there is no appreciable difference by doing the upsampling in Photoshop or letting the printer driver do it. As far as I understand, the driver also uses a Bicubic interpolation algorithm. So in most cases I don't do the last step of adjusting the dpi to 360.
    I was wondering if somebody has done exhaustive tests and have found situations where it is best to do the resizing in PS vs. letting the printer driver do it.

  20. #220
    Workshop Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Brooklyn
    Posts
    4,043
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1253

    Re: S2 and my impressions.

    how do you handle multiple pass scanning?

  21. #221
    Workshop Member ptomsu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Austria, close to Vienna
    Posts
    3,871
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: S2 and my impressions.

    Quote Originally Posted by jotloob View Post
    Peter

    That is almost exactly my workflow .
    Except that I do not scan with the maximum resolution , but with the resolution calculated by SILVER FAST for my maximum print size , my printers can do .

    I name the first scan the alpha scan (@scan) , from there I produce an alpha work file
    (@work) and after that a final version , which then can be used for the different print sizes . As disk storage is currently quit cheap , the file sizes dont bother me at all .

    Jürgen
    The Flextight X5 allows to save 3F Files, which are actually RAW Files. Thus I scan in maximum resolution, let the scanner actually do nothing and have the pure RAW file.

    I then do some primary color adjustment in the Flexcolor SW, which already gives me colors almost perfect to the final result. I also do some dust removal (because this is the strongest feature of the Flextight X5) and then I store this RAW file as TIFF. From that TIFF I start then in PS and do my final editing.

    And thanks to your hints in this forum I store then with 360DPI to optimize for the Epson printers my printing lab is using.

    Harmony - total harmony!

    Totally different from the LUF!

  22. #222
    Workshop Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    420
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: S2 and my impressions.

    JLM,

    What I do is a quick & dirty very low quality scan / single pass first to review the images off the roll.

    After I decide which ones are keepers, I scan as was stated above. I normally use the 8x pass level on my Nikon and am very happy. Not fast, but it does give me the quote "master" file to do whatever I want later.

    Best,

    Ray

  23. #223
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Almere, The Netherlands
    Posts
    36
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: S2 and my impressions.

    Quote Originally Posted by jlm View Post
    how do you handle multiple pass scanning?
    I useSilverfast on my Nikon Coolscan, and this has this Multi Exposure. Which is a two pass but with some masking, creating two scans that are then composed to one, quite identical to a two-frame HDR compo or stack.
    This gives good resolution and reduction of grain in dark areas. Sometimes i try also the 4 or 8 pass, but sofar no significant advantage in image over the ME.

    As a rule of thumb, multi-pass improves the image result, especialy in the darker areas (less grain, better details).

    What i do also is to use the manual focus to focus as good as possible on the emulsion layer, to get the maximum out of my slides. Is worth the extra time.

    IQ is Technology, PQ is YOU

    Jan R.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •