The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Fun with X1D

PedroL

Peter, I would be equally ecstatic if you could get me some batteries and an HC lens adapter! I would send you some pictures of the unboxing.
The batteries are shipping, but I have a ton of pre-orders and those will be filled first.
If you would like some from us, please place an order....
Peter

satijntje

I have been shooting since several years with Leica FF but the images here are simply blowing me away!
What an amazing quality!
John

Last edited:

rent

Chris, or anyone,

Would you kindly confirm that the Metz M400 works with XCD 30 and 45 lenses with the lens hood on, i.e., the hood does not cast a shadow in the lower part of the photo?

Thanks!
Alex

If anyone is looking for a small on camera flash, I'm happy to report that the new Metz M400 (Nikon version) works great also in TTL mode. I usually work with Profoto but sometimes it's nice to just have a small on camera flash for the days that you don't want to carry much gear.

rent

It's time to joining in on the fun!

So far I've used the X1D as a casual "lifestyle" walk-around camera, and have enjoyed it tremendously. It's simple, light, and produces amazing results.

I usually use aperture priority, center point manual focus (back button focus) with peaking, auto ISO, and center spot metering. There's no need to fiddle with anything on the back screen. Just focus, recompose, dial in exposure, and shoot. In fact, for this type of usage, I really wish there's a setting to completely turn off the back screen.