The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Advice on Hasselblad X1D

rmatthews

Hi all

I am seriously considering the X1D and was hoping to get some advice.
I am not a pro - I just like taking pictures when I travel and of the family etc
I currently have a Leica M240 which I like very much when I nail the focus but I do have to admit that there are times when RF focusing defeats me - It's not a huge deal and I kind of accept it as the cost of owning a camera I enjoy. I am not tempted by the Leica SL as I just find it too big and in your face, especially with the native Leica AF lenses.

The X1D has really got me intrigued though - it has the AF and from what I've heard is still pretty easy to manual focus. I really love the interface on it - I originally moved to Leica as I just got so fed up and confused by all the buttons and switches that other makes seem to add more and more of, and from the reviews I've seen the X1D seems to follow the same principles of simplicity whilst also utilising a very modern touchscreen approach. I also love the design. It's bigger than I'm used to, but the handgrip looks so ergonomic extending forwards and backwards that I think it feels even smaller than actually is. It just looks great.

The points that are holding me back are that it is a first generation product and although I'm sure firmware will come out to address some issues, inevitably the X2D will solve some quirks with hardware (does anyone know hasselblad's normal lifecycle for bodies?)