The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Someone having a decent raw from the X1D to share?

Sorry, is that "magical" an somewhat random comment or something more specific? I see that you mentioned above that you thought there was a slight difference before the 3FR & FFF files, but I'm new to Hassy files and if you or anyone has more info or opinions on this I would GREATLY appreciate it. I will also try to test my files tomorrow.

Thanks,
Josh
I am new to Hasselblad also, so I also would appreciate to know how more experienced users of Hasselblad X or H do manage their Raw files in Lightroom.

When I said "magical", it was more a joke, as I do not really understand what is going on behind the scenes, but temperature and tint are slightly different in Lightroom when you view FFF files (imported via Phocus) vs 3F files out of the camera.

I, for now (my X1D is on the way), am considering importing DNGs from Phocus (without any treatment) and work from there in Lightroom. The base files seem fine (and malleability the same or even slightly better than FFF) and as a bonus I have somewhat smaller files.

I made some tests with the FFF files available from DPreview's gallery, some of them with extreme dynamic range. If you pull the shadows in LR, the results seem slightly better with DNG than with FFF, but this is subjective.

BANKER1

I am new to Hasselblad also, so I also would appreciate to know how more experienced users of Hasselblad X or H do manage their Raw files in Lightroom.