The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Fuji GFX Flash Sync and Lighting

markymarkrb

Forum,

I am looking at purchasing a basic lighting system to supplement my portrait photography with the GFX50s. I am a landscape photographer so please excuse my lack of knowledge on this stuff. I know the sync speed is not good on the GFX but I have heard that people have had luck with up to 1/4000th of a second with the Roboshoot MX-20/RX-20. I am looking at getting that with a Rotolight AEOS. Nothing super fancy but just enough to supplement natural lighting. Is this all I need? Would this setup even work with the GFX? Point me in the right direction.

Thanks,
Mark

Mark Benson Reeder Fine Art Photography

jdphoto

I'm not shooting with the GFX, but for me, having a high flash sync up to 1/500th, allows me to balance the ambient light and use fast lenses wide open. The idea being the wider aperture creates a shallow DOF. Much more flattering for portraits. However, I'm also shooting film with the Pentax 67 with it's 1/30th sec. flash sync. The Rotolight Aeos is a great option, but not as powerful as a strobe. They're cool to the touch and you can get very close to the model. You could use ND filters on the GFX to achieve the shallow DOF with its rated flash sync. I think you can turn off preview in the EVF and compose normally with the ND's attached. There are many new lighting products coming online that seem to mitigate the slow sync issue. Have fun, lighting adds such an amazing new dimension to photography. It'll unleash your creativity.

PSon