Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: C1 4 Pro with Macbook Pro 4GB Ram

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    63
    Post Thanks / Like

    C1 4 Pro with Macbook Pro 4GB Ram

    Hello:

    Is anyone using a new MacBook Pro with the standard 4GB of RAM with Capture One 4 Pro? I had heard initially that there was a problem with that amount of RAM and the software. It's getting to be upgrade time. Phase was saying it was an Apple issue.

    Any thoughts are appreciated.

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Brockton,MA
    Posts
    134
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    34

    Re: C1 4 Pro with Macbook Pro 4GB Ram

    I got it, and I don't have any problem. Work perfect with c1 and phocus

    BlasR

  3. #3
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Bill Caulfeild-Browne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Bruce Peninsula, Canada
    Posts
    2,535
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    184

    Re: C1 4 Pro with Macbook Pro 4GB Ram

    I've got it too - no problems at all with 4.6.3. (Nor with my MacPro with mega RAM)
    Bill

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    291
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    15

    Re: C1 4 Pro with Macbook Pro 4GB Ram

    No problems for me either. Unibook 15" MBP, 4GB.

    Cheers, -Peter

  5. #5
    Subscriber Member tashley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    South of England
    Posts
    3,295
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: C1 4 Pro with Macbook Pro 4GB Ram

    Guys, are you shooting tethered? It works fine on my 2GB ram macbook if rather slow and clunky but it is basically inoperable on my 8 core Mac pro Xeon with bags of RAM. Phase told me that it was to do with the way the program and the machine use all those cores and that they hoped to fix it. That was a couple of versions ago and I haven't tried it again since.

    T

  6. #6
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    carstenw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Posts
    2,530
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: C1 4 Pro with Macbook Pro 4GB Ram

    Tim, did you do a complete uninstall and remove of any previous versions? Someone on LL had a severe slowdown which was cured when this was done.
    Carsten - Website

  7. #7
    Workshop Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,275
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    7

    Re: C1 4 Pro with Macbook Pro 4GB Ram

    4.6.3 should have no issues with 8-core macs or ram above 2gb. That issue was known and was in 4.6.0.

    Doug Peterson (e-mail Me)
    __________________
    Head of Technical Services, Capture Integration
    Phase One, Canon, Apple, Profoto, Eizo & More
    National: 877.217.9870 | Cell: 740.707.2183
    Newsletter: Read Latest or Sign Up

  8. #8
    Subscriber Member tashley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    South of England
    Posts
    3,295
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: C1 4 Pro with Macbook Pro 4GB Ram

    Quote Originally Posted by carstenw View Post
    Tim, did you do a complete uninstall and remove of any previous versions? Someone on LL had a severe slowdown which was cured when this was done.
    Carsten, the is me you're talking too!

    ;-)

    I did indeed.

  9. #9
    Subscriber Member tashley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    South of England
    Posts
    3,295
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: C1 4 Pro with Macbook Pro 4GB Ram

    Quote Originally Posted by dougpetersonci View Post
    4.6.3 should have no issues with 8-core macs or ram above 2gb. That issue was known and was in 4.6.0.

    Doug Peterson (e-mail Me)
    __________________
    Head of Technical Services, Capture Integration
    Phase One, Canon, Apple, Profoto, Eizo & More
    National: 877.217.9870 | Cell: 740.707.2183
    Newsletter: Read Latest or Sign Up
    Great, thanks for the info - I'll give it a go!

  10. #10
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: C1 4 Pro with Macbook Pro 4GB Ram

    Just buy a nice 6gb laptop that works great tethered. I know where one is
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  11. #11
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    carstenw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Posts
    2,530
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: C1 4 Pro with Macbook Pro 4GB Ram

    Quote Originally Posted by tashley View Post
    Carsten, the is me you're talking too!

    ;-)

    I did indeed.
    "too"? you mean: "about" I had forgotten. Duh.
    Carsten - Website

  12. #12
    Subscriber Member tashley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    South of England
    Posts
    3,295
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: C1 4 Pro with Macbook Pro 4GB Ram

    Quote Originally Posted by carstenw View Post
    "too"? you mean: "about" I had forgotten. Duh.
    'Scuse my ropey grammar Carsten ... that's not like me either!


    Now, I tried my 8 core Xeon on C1 4.6.3 for the first time since I installed it with live preview and zoom/focus view and, like the previous version, it did not work at all... all the usual glitches and crashes. So I did a full un-install are re-install and now, finally, it does work.

    I'm guessing that whatever multi-core or RAM configuration issue there was has been resolved and that it should work on a current macbook pro BUT if it were me, I would not bet on it. My experience with the software is that it is glitchy, unpredictable and unstable and that to purchase a new machine on the basis that it will work on it would be foolhardy. So the the OP I say, until someone tells you that they have the same machine on which you want to run it, don't splash out...

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    63
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: C1 4 Pro with Macbook Pro 4GB Ram

    Thanks everyone!

  14. #14
    Workshop Member ptomsu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Austria, close to Vienna
    Posts
    3,868
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: C1 4 Pro with Macbook Pro 4GB Ram

    Quote Originally Posted by jeffreytotaro View Post
    Hello:

    Is anyone using a new MacBook Pro with the standard 4GB of RAM with Capture One 4 Pro? I had heard initially that there was a problem with that amount of RAM and the software. It's getting to be upgrade time. Phase was saying it was an Apple issue.

    Any thoughts are appreciated.

    Thanks!
    I tried it on my MacBook Pro 17" with 4G RAM and it is damn slow. Even slower than working with PS CS3 and having 5 or 6 layers open in a 200MB file.

    So I stopped using it.

    I have NO problems wit Aperture2, PS CS3, Flexcolor etc on the same machine, so I think it must be a Phase problem, they should solve!

  15. #15
    Workshop Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,275
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    7

    Re: C1 4 Pro with Macbook Pro 4GB Ram

    Quote Originally Posted by ptomsu View Post
    I tried it on my MacBook Pro 17" with 4G RAM and it is damn slow. Even slower than working with PS CS3 and having 5 or 6 layers open in a 200MB file.

    So I stopped using it.

    I have NO problems wit Aperture2, PS CS3, Flexcolor etc on the same machine, so I think it must be a Phase problem, they should solve!
    Sounds like something is wrong. Performance should be pretty darn good.

    I suggest you uninstall/reinstall (instructions).

    The other possibility is that C1 is redoing the cache folder for the raw files you are viewing. The fix is to simply wait after opening the folder for the first time with the new version. After the cache is redone (about 1-3 seconds per raw file) it should rock and roll nice and smooth.

    Doug Peterson (e-mail Me)
    __________________
    Head of Technical Services, Capture Integration
    Phase One, Canon, Apple, Profoto, Eizo & More
    National: 877.217.9870 | Cell: 740.707.2183
    Newsletter: Read Latest or Sign Up

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •