The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Future MF Digital Decisions ~ 2018

Frankly

I'm an armchair follower... I'm a long established photographer with an extensive Nikon system, 35 years of large format film experience, blah blah blah. With the improving market I'm actually at the point where a medium format system is within grasp so I've been speculating and researching. This forum has been very helpful, I've read most of the manufacturer's literature, Anders Torger and Ming Thein, logged my YouTube hours.

I wouldn't want to replace my Nikon system, I value the long telephoto and professional auto-focusing too much. To be honest the newer lenses like the 105/1.4e and the Zeiss manual focus options are highly satisfactory and good enough. And besides I only print large for sales a few times a year, I no longer exhibit or make a pretense about galleries, all of my work is on my website and if it looks good on a 4k monitor that is all that really matters. I look forward to the day when I can hang digital monitors on the wall instead of prints.

Still I have the urge to increase bit depth and resolution for my landscapes in the range of "normal" focal lengths, 35mm to 85mm equivalents. I know it's overkill and simply shooting the Nikon is more than sufficient but I do miss the large format pace, the deliberate fussing and contemplation. And to be honest, it is mostly psychological, knowing you're doing something the nth degree, following the best practice and chasing the highest quality possible.