The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Any Cambo Actus XCD users?

retcheto

I’ve never used a view camera before and want to learn, so I’m thinking of getting ting a Cambo for my X1D.

Any one using this? Any general advice or things I should be aware of? Any lens recommendations?

Boinger

I had one to test for a day or two.

It didn't fully work for me because I had the wrong bellows. But i was able to grab some test shots and work with it a little bit.

I can answer whatever questions for you? I am not that experienced in view cameras myself.

I used it with technical camera lenses

HR40
HR70
Apo sironar digital 90mm
SK 120mm ASPH

The HR40 CAN infinity focus on the XCD but you are limited to about +- 5mm in either direction and same for tilt and swing. This is because the rear element goes into the mount on the XCD (not into the camera)

With the X1d you are limited to Electronic shutter. Unless you have tech cam lenses with integrated shutter then you can use that, and you will not get the rolling shutter effect with that method. One point about Electronic shutter it limits you to ISO 3200 and if you do some long very exposures there can be issues.

CAMBOUSA

HR40
HR70
Apo sironar digital 90mm
SK 120mm ASPH

The HR40 CAN infinity focus on the XCD but you are limited to about +- 5mm in either direction and same for tilt and swing. This is because the rear element goes into the mount on the XCD (not into the camera)