The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Pentax 645 to Fuji medium format adapter?

gurtch

Hello all: I now use Sony A7R II and I have a Pentax 645D in near mint condition ( I am an 81 year old amateur). Last December I had open heart surgery, and my 645D is sitting here unused, although I love medium format. I am considering selling my 645D, which weighs 3.42 pounds. The new Fuji mirrorless weighs 1.7 pounds, and I think I might use it more often. I have a bunch of lovely, near mint Pentax 645 lenses, all except one which are manual focus. I might add I have the hard to find split image ground glass screen, ideal for MF lenses. My question (finally): has anyone used 645 lenses on your Fuji via an adapter? How did it work out....is manual focus possible? Last month I had a stroke in my left eye, which left me partially blind in that eye; yes, I am left eye dominant. So, I will need to use my non dominant eye to focus manually. How is manual focusing with that camera, especially using adapted lenses? Thanks in advance.....really want to get back to MF.
Dave in NJ
MODERN PICTORIALS

Shashin

Dave, I might suggest selling all of your Pentax gear and getting a Fuji camera with the Fuji 32-65 zoom lens. A much more compact system and lighter. The Pentax lenses are great, but I have always found system lenses work better than adapted cousins.

gurtch

Dave, I might suggest selling all of your Pentax gear and getting a Fuji camera with the Fuji 32-65 zoom lens. A much more compact system and lighter. The Pentax lenses are great, but I have always found system lenses work better than adapted cousins.