The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Looking for advice on a new lens

bomzi

I'm interested in adding a new longer lens to my kit and I was hoping for some advice.

First a little background.
I'm an architectural photographer working with an RM3Di and a P45+ back. I have two lenses for this camera; a SK 35xl and a SK 72xl.

I also shoot quite extensively with a 4x5 for which I have 4 lenses: 75, 90, 150, 210. As of late, I find myself using the 150 and 210 much more than the wider lenses. I will look to add a 300mm lens to that kit along with something comparable for the P45+.

Can anyone make some recommendations on a longer lens?:confused:

To complicate matters, I am thinking of upgrading to the IQ1 50 back in the near future.

Your help is much appreciated!

dchew

With the p45+, I think the standard sk 120 apo digitar (non ASPH) would be a great option. The asph is better, but they are rare, expensive and probably not necessary unless you need more than a 90mm image circle.

Here is a link to the lens info. It’s from Alpa’s site, but the lens is the same.
https://www.alpa.ch/_files/120N_MTF.pdf

Note the actual focal length is 124.9. I think that is a little longer than the 300mm equivalent on your 4x5.

Dave

drunkenspyder

With the p45+, I think the standard sk 120 apo digitar (non ASPH) would be a great option. The asph is better, but they are rare, expensive and probably not necessary unless you need more than a 90mm image circle.

Here is a link to the lens info. It’s from Alpa’s site, but the lens is the same.
https://www.alpa.ch/_files/120N_MTF.pdf