The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Dalsa Launches CMOS sensor bigger than 645 with global shutter

FelixCLC

Hey Everyone! Outside of the photo world I'm currently a Computer Engineering student, and while doing some sensor research I came across a new Medium format sensor from Dalsa called the Falcon 4.

The long and short of it is that it a 4:3 ratio at 86 MP, 6 Micro pixels, with an active sensor size of 64mm by 48mm (!!!) putting it almost as an oblong version of 6*6 in terms of capture area (~3000 sure mm of area vs 3100 fo 6*6) :bugeyes:

Supports 16 bit captures
For those using studio flash supports global shutter (so potentially no need for LS lenses dependent upon implementation)
Has both a colour and monochrome variant

Not sure if any of the manufacturers (namely Phase Hassy Pentax and Fuji) would use it in the systems since they've already all moved to Sony for MF, but could be interesting if something does come out of it! Alternatively maybe if the cost per unit is (relatively :ROTFL:) reasonable could we see a new entrant?

Best,

Felix

Here's the website https://www.teledynedalsa.com/en/products/imaging/cameras/falcon4/
Here's the data sheet https://info.teledynedalsa.com/acto...4-00 Falcon4 86M Mono and Color Datasheet.pdf

Abstraction

I seriously doubt that there will be a non-special application camera with a s3nsor bigger than 33x44, much less bigger than 645. The market seems to have settled and Phase One is moving more and mote into the specialized application field. There doesn't seem to be a big enough demand for cameras with big sensors anymore.

dougpeterson

Workshop Member