Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Canon TS-E on IQ4150

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    Alberta
    Posts
    18
    Post Thanks / Like

    Canon TS-E on IQ4150

    Currently looking at upgrading my digital back (IQ260--->IQ4150) for my XF camera and also considering getting an Alpa 12FPS with a Canon lens panel since I already have the TS-E 17 and 24mm. I work with flash exposures a lot, hence the focal plane shutter option rather than making use of the electronic shutter on a tech camera such as the Cambo WRS. I have seen lots of great results with such system (12FPS/Canon TS-E) with several digital backs including the IQ180 and IQ3100 Trichromatic granting access to unmatched FoV. I understand the corners will not be as sharp as the centre but 150MP should give plenty of room to crop images. So I am wondering: did anyone try shooting the new 150MP bsi sensor with Canon lenses? Feedback, comments and image samples would be highly appreciated. Thanks!

    Christophe
    www.christophebenard.com
    Last edited by chbenard; 27th June 2019 at 14:30.

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Posts
    111
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Canon TS-E on IQ4150

    I assume the lens only covers a 35-mm image circle? If so, you'll have to crop the surrounding black from the images and will get out a <~80 MP rectangular image (depending on how square your rectangular crop is). The good news is that IQ4 sensor is pretty much best-in-class at the moment even on a per-sq-mm basis, so I think you'll be pleased with the results. You could also get an Alpa tilt adapter, an Alpa STC, and then you could use any Alpa SB34 lenses and could cover the entire sensor (I realize this option would add a lot to the cost).

    Quote Originally Posted by chbenard View Post
    Currently looking at upgrading my digital back (IQ260--->IQ4150) for my XF camera and also considering getting an Alpa 12FPS with a Canon lens panel since I already have the TS-E 17 and 24mm. I work with flash exposures a lot, hence the focal plane shutter option rather than making use of the electronic shutter on a tech camera such as the Cambo WRS. I have seen lots of great results with such system (12FPS/Canon TS-E) with several digital backs including the IQ180 and IQ3100 Trichromatic granting access to unmatched FoV. I understand the corners will not be as sharp as the centre but 150MP should give plenty of room to crop images. So I am wondering: did anyone tried shooting the new 150MP bsi sensor with Canon lenses? Feedback, comments and image samples would be highly appreciated. Thanks!

    Christophe
    www.christophebenard.com

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Munich
    Posts
    1,037
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1

    Re: Canon TS-E on IQ4150

    The TSE 24 covers the full sensor. So I expect the same or even better results with the newer TSE. (For example the 50)
    Christopher Hauser
    http://www.chauser.eu
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

  4. #4
    New Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    Alberta
    Posts
    18
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Canon TS-E on IQ4150

    Quote Originally Posted by onasj View Post
    I assume the lens only covers a 35-mm image circle? If so, you'll have to crop the surrounding black from the images and will get out a <~80 MP rectangular image (depending on how square your rectangular crop is). The good news is that IQ4 sensor is pretty much best-in-class at the moment even on a per-sq-mm basis, so I think you'll be pleased with the results. You could also get an Alpa tilt adapter, an Alpa STC, and then you could use any Alpa SB34 lenses and could cover the entire sensor (I realize this option would add a lot to the cost).
    Well I believe that the lens actually covers a full-frame 54x40 sensor. This has been reported many times by full-frame users in the past. I received an image sample from a dealer after posting this and was able to play with the file (Canon TS-E 24mm on IQ4150). As expected the corners are not so sharp but there is plenty of room in the file to crop. After a few tweaks in Capture One I ended up with a sharp image of about 83MP. No LCC was applied and no vignetting is visible in the original RAW file. Pretty impressive!

    Yes, cost is definitely a factor considering the DB upgrade. Thanks!

  5. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    Alberta
    Posts
    18
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Canon TS-E on IQ4150

    Quote Originally Posted by Christopher View Post
    The TSE 24 covers the full sensor. So I expect the same or even better results with the newer TSE. (For example the 50)
    Agreed. I read somewhere a couple days ago (I forgot to save the page!) that the Canon TS-E couldn't resolve the 150MP. I thought it was BS which is why I wanted to see a sample. I received one today and confirm that the results are indeed very good considering the price of the glass.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Hamburg/Beijing
    Posts
    369
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    15

    Re: Canon TS-E on IQ4150

    i do have the TS-E 17mm and 50mm on my gfx50s, couldnt be more happy, all TS-E lenses cover 645 full frame, but some obviously become smudgy at the edges, the wides more than the normals.
    my 50mm is a great performer.
    i compared it to my c645 55mm the other day, the canon is much sharper wide open, but stopped down both are on a very high level and very very similar.
    the canon fully shifted shows some corner darkness though, but handable.

    the 17mm is extremely wide on the GFX sensor and will be even more so on the iq4150 sensor, dont expect usable edges.

    lets not forget that TS-E are essentially medium to large format lenses, the image circle is huge
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    305
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Canon TS-E on IQ4150

    How does the 50 compare to something like a digitar? I have the 24tse (II) and the old 90 which are fine lenses but I feel not quite up to the 60/80/120 digitars. Has there been a significant step up with the new 50? (This would be for use with a Sony and maybe at a later date GFX/XD.
    I had the old 45tse and it was a poor performer on anything over 24mp and I tried not to use it for paid jobs.
    They are just tools for a job.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Hamburg/Beijing
    Posts
    369
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    15

    Re: Canon TS-E on IQ4150

    i never used schneider or rodenstock lenses

    as i mentioned i compared to my c645 55mm and stopped down the ts-e 50 was on par

  9. #9
    New Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    Alberta
    Posts
    18
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Canon TS-E on IQ4150

    Quote Originally Posted by drevil View Post
    i do have the TS-E 17mm and 50mm on my gfx50s, couldnt be more happy, all TS-E lenses cover 645 full frame, but some obviously become smudgy at the edges, the wides more than the normals.
    my 50mm is a great performer.
    i compared it to my c645 55mm the other day, the canon is much sharper wide open, but stopped down both are on a very high level and very very similar.
    the canon fully shifted shows some corner darkness though, but handable.

    the 17mm is extremely wide on the GFX sensor and will be even more so on the iq4150 sensor, dont expect usable edges.

    lets not forget that TS-E are essentially medium to large format lenses, the image circle is huge

    I am not surprised. The GFX is a great option but I am pretty invested in the Phase One system already. The capabilities of the IQ4 are astonishing but I suspect the GFX 100 will sell well.

    I completely agree with you: Canon TS-E lenses are outstanding!
    Last edited by chbenard; 28th June 2019 at 14:29.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •