The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

A question on equivalence...

crashwins

I've been a working photographer (side-hustler) for a while..One of my favorite photographers (focuses on enthnographic work, nonprofits, lifestyle) uses an IQ250 and a 55mm for like 95% of his work...I find that very interesting as I lug around 3-4 lenses for my Nikon or Sony bodies. I'm in a creative lull and have considered trying to pair down my gear and my "work" for what I find more enjoyable -- portraits and simple landscapes. I realize changing my gear won't make me a much better shooter -- it's not that. But some gear does inspire. So I've contemplated switching to a fast prime and trying to stick heavily to that as it might force me into something more creative, think more on lighting, post, etc. Here's my question:

On the IQ250 or a 645Z the 55mm looks like a 43mm in terms of field of view, no? The .79 multiplier is a 43mm F2.2 lens. But in 35mm terms what looks more like this in terms of compression, angle of view, etc -- a 35mm or a 50mm? There's a "look": it has the right amount of background compression (not that "swimming in bokeh" crap) and limited (maybe none) facial distortion. Any thoughts? Here are 2-3 examples. Thanks!

Screen Shot 2019-05-06 at 9.53.36 AM.jpgScreen Shot 2019-05-07 at 10.25.36 AM.jpg

dchew