The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

H&Y Filter System with a Technical Camera

dchew

I've been using the H&Y system for the last several months. I had not heard of it before reading Tim Parkin's very thorough review of filter systems at OnLandscape (paid content).

The real reason this system interested me was the opportunity to create a LCC card and dark frame that attached magnetically. Technical camera lenses are now supplied without Copal shutters, so there is no way to close the lens for a dark frame. That is not much of an issue when you are shooting without filters; just add the lens cap and shoot the dark frame. Add a filter, especially a carefully positioned GND, and it really becomes a problem. You have to remove the filter holder, cover the lens, tell the back to go ahead and take its dark frame, then finally re-attached the filter holder for subsequent photos.

Same difficulty is associated with shooting an LCC.

There are a few characteristics associated with the H&Y system that make it the best solution I know of for this problem:
  1. The magnetic filter frames attach to the outside holder in a light-tight way
  2. You don’t have to slide them in and out; they just attach magnetically to the front face of the holder
  3. H&Y sells empty magnetic frames. They are meant to hold 100x100 or 100x150mm filters you already own, but you can fill them with any 2mm thick material.