Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Profoto A1 with Phase One XF

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Posts
    45
    Post Thanks / Like

    Profoto A1 with Phase One XF

    This may be a simpleton question; Are there any issues using a Profoto A1, which are TTL dedicated to certain DSLR’s such as Nikon, with the Profoto Air system built into the XF?

    I ask, because in a recent Phase One YouTube video an XF is triggering an A1. Logical I can kind of understand the systems “talking” in a manual/triggering sense, but if the receiving A1 is configured for Nikon TTL would there be any issues? Wondering if I could use an A1 on a separate Group as a fill light.

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    100
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Profoto A1 with Phase One XF

    Quote Originally Posted by jamesdfloyd View Post
    This may be a simpleton question; Are there any issues using a Profoto A1, which are TTL dedicated to certain DSLR’s such as Nikon, with the Profoto Air system built into the XF?

    I ask, because in a recent Phase One YouTube video an XF is triggering an A1. Logical I can kind of understand the systems “talking” in a manual/triggering sense, but if the receiving A1 is configured for Nikon TTL would there be any issues? Wondering if I could use an A1 on a separate Group as a fill light.
    I have the Nikon version of the A1s. No problems from XF.
    - ErlingMM
    Thanks 1 Member(s) thanked for this post
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Posts
    45
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Profoto A1 with Phase One XF

    Quote Originally Posted by erlingmm View Post
    I have the Nikon version of the A1s. No problems from XF.
    Thanks. Can you still do power adjustments via the in camera screen? Also, does the XF TTL signal carry over, or does it default to Manual?

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    78
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Profoto A1 with Phase One XF

    As my understanding of the marketing material is an XF has a built in airTTL controller, I would expect it to get full TTL capability with any airTTL flash. The Profoto A1 is an airTTL flash, with different options for the built in airTTL controller which would need to talk to the camera.

    So yeah, I would assume the XF can control any A1 using the radio link instead of hotshoe communication.
    Thanks 1 Member(s) thanked for this post
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    178
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    23

    Re: Profoto A1 with Phase One XF

    This article from Capture Integration explains that the Phase One XF body would only fire with a Nikon Air Transceiver.

    https://captureintegration.com/profo...ne-xf-is-here/
    Thanks 1 Member(s) thanked for this post
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    78
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Profoto A1 with Phase One XF

    Quote Originally Posted by steve_cor View Post
    This article from Capture Integration explains that the Phase One XF body would only fire with a Nikon Air Transceiver.

    https://captureintegration.com/profo...ne-xf-is-here/
    Quote Originally Posted by the article
    The Profoto Air sync and TTL technology is not new. However, in the past the Phase One XF body would only fire with a Nikon Air Transceiver. If you owned a Canon body, you needed to have both a Nikon (for XF) and a Canon Transceiver to sync your strobes. With the new A1, we are using the built in Air system to send the signals to the studio light. Therefore, it doesn’t matter whether your A1 is for Canon, Nikon, or Sony; all will work with the Phase One XF Camera.
    So it works pretty much exactly how I would have imagined... It doesn't use the connector pins for communication, it uses the radio system.
    Thanks 1 Member(s) thanked for this post
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

  7. #7
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    kdphotography's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Carmel/Tucson
    Posts
    2,736
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Profoto A1 with Phase One XF

    Did I miss something? The CI article says the XF using its built-in Profoto Air transmitter will trigger any version of the Profoto A1.

    Not a fan of all the TTL stuff, including the A1 and OCF line. But I do like the built-in Profoto Air on the XF.

    ken

    Eh, Robbie typing at the same time
    www.houseoflandscapes.com
    www.kendoophotography.com
    www.carmelfineartprinting.com
    Thanks 1 Member(s) thanked for this post
    Likes 2 Member(s) liked this post

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    78
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Profoto A1 with Phase One XF

    Quote Originally Posted by kdphotography View Post
    Eh, Robbie typing at the same time
    It happens... I blame having to preview my crazy quoting madness.
    Thanks 1 Member(s) thanked for this post
    Likes 2 Member(s) liked this post

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Posts
    45
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Profoto A1 with Phase One XF

    Thanks everyone. The article answered my question

    J.D.
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    www.benhuggler.com
    Posts
    88
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Profoto A1 with Phase One XF

    James
    There is one thing I don't like when working with the A1 on the XF.
    The AF assist light has to be set manually on and off.
    With the Nikons it works how it should, automatic.
    This is a big bummer for me because the XF assist light is white and very disturbing for people (not red crossed as the A1).

    Regards,
    Ben
    www.benhuggler.com

    www.instagram.com/benhuggler/
    Thanks 1 Member(s) thanked for this post
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •