Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Rodenstock Aperture Only Mount

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    7
    Post Thanks / Like

    Rodenstock Aperture Only Mount

    Has anyone bought one of these a la carte yet? I'm curious about the pricing and availability. I have a lens I need to send to SK grimes to have mounted in a copal zero shutter and want to consider the aperture only route in case it turns out to be cost effective.

  2. #2
    Senior Member Pemihan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    1,647
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1

    Re: Rodenstock Aperture Only Mount

    Quote Originally Posted by ericstaud View Post
    Has anyone bought one of these a la carte yet? I'm curious about the pricing and availability. I have a lens I need to send to SK grimes to have mounted in a copal zero shutter and want to consider the aperture only route in case it turns out to be cost effective.
    I got a quote from Rodenstock for having a bare lens mounted in aperture mount - Euro 1,000
    Obvious that is including the labor, what the cost of the aperture mount itself is I don't know

    Peter

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Little Rock AR
    Posts
    2,407
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    8

    Re: Rodenstock Aperture Only Mount

    I believe it will be in the 2K US range, once you consider in Shipping and Insurance.

    Paul C

  4. #4
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    7
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Rodenstock Aperture Only Mount

    Quote Originally Posted by Paul2660 View Post
    I believe it will be in the 2K US range, once you consider in Shipping and Insurance.

    Paul C
    Ugh. Seems a little nuts that they would charge that much.

    Earlier this year I sent the glass from a 73mm Apo-Digitar along with a copal 0 shutter to S.K. Grimes to be mounted. The charge was $58.00. If they had needed to engrave a new aperture scale it would have been another $70.00.

    I have 47mm and 120mm Digitars which both need mounting, one of them isn't in a shutter.

    Copal 0 shutters can be bought on ebay for under $200. I was hoping the Rodenstock aperture mount would be $200-300, so I could consider going that route instead of buying up used Copals.
    Last edited by ericstaud; 1 Week Ago at 15:29.

  5. #5
    Senior Member Steve Hendrix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    723
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    4

    Re: Rodenstock Aperture Only Mount

    Quote Originally Posted by ericstaud View Post
    Ugh. Seems a little nuts that they would charge that much.

    Earlier this year I sent the glass from a 73mm Apo-Digitar along with a copal 0 shutter to S.K. Grimes to be mounted. The charge was $58.00. If they had needed to engrave a new aperture scale it would have been another $70.00.

    I have 47mm and 120mm Digitars which both need mounting, one of them isn't in a shutter.

    Copal 0 shutters can be bought on ebay for under $200. I was hoping the Rodenstock aperture mount would be $200-300, so I could consider going that route instead of buying up used Copals.
    Eric -

    To be a bit more precise, the cost for mounting an existing lens into Aperture Mount ranges from around $1,450 - $1,700, depending on the host manufacturer (Arca, Alpa, Cambo), shipping charges, etc.


    Steve Hendrix/CI
    Last edited by Steve Hendrix; 1 Week Ago at 13:03.
    Steve Hendrix, Sales Manager, www.captureintegration.com (e-mail Me)
    Authorized Reseller Digital Cam: Phase One | Fuji | Leica | Hasselblad
    Authorized Reseller TechCam: Alpa | Cambo | Arca Swiss | Sinar

  6. #6
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    7
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Rodenstock Aperture Only Mount

    Quote Originally Posted by Steve Hendrix View Post
    Eric -

    To be a bit more precise, the cost for mounting an existing lens into Aperture Mount ranges from around $1,450 - $1,700, depending on manufacturer, shipping charges, etc.


    Steve Hendrix/CI
    Thanks Steve, that's great to know. I've been shopping for digital Rodenstock and Schneider lenses and find some for a great price but in the wrong mounts. Do the lens go to Europe for this process? Is it possible to buy the aperture only mount a la carte and have a company like SK grimes mount the elements? Just curious, thanks.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Little Rock AR
    Posts
    2,407
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    8

    Re: Rodenstock Aperture Only Mount

    Not to speak for Steve, but I have checked on this.

    Lens goes back to Rodenstock, has to be mounted into the aperture only by them and then re-aligned. I was told that Rodenstock will not be allowing a third party to do this process at least for the near term.

    BTW, I was close at 2K, as I figure most of the lenses out there will be on the higher side.

    Paul C

  8. #8
    Senior Member Steve Hendrix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    723
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    4

    Re: Rodenstock Aperture Only Mount

    Quote Originally Posted by ericstaud View Post
    Thanks Steve, that's great to know. I've been shopping for digital Rodenstock and Schneider lenses and find some for a great price but in the wrong mounts. Do the lens go to Europe for this process? Is it possible to buy the aperture only mount a la carte and have a company like SK grimes mount the elements? Just curious, thanks.

    Paul, thanks for chiming in.

    The Rodenstock lenses, in particular, are more complex than Schneider lenses (in terms of the mounting). As in, even where the front and rear optics end up in the rotational pathway relative to each other as they are tightened. Wouldn't be impossible for 3rd party, but not so simple either.


    Steve Hendrix/CI
    Steve Hendrix, Sales Manager, www.captureintegration.com (e-mail Me)
    Authorized Reseller Digital Cam: Phase One | Fuji | Leica | Hasselblad
    Authorized Reseller TechCam: Alpa | Cambo | Arca Swiss | Sinar

  9. #9
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    7
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Rodenstock Aperture Only Mount

    Quote Originally Posted by Paul2660 View Post
    Not to speak for Steve, but I have checked on this.

    Lens goes back to Rodenstock, has to be mounted into the aperture only by them and then re-aligned. I was told that Rodenstock will not be allowing a third party to do this process at least for the near term.

    BTW, I was close at 2K, as I figure most of the lenses out there will be on the higher side.

    Paul C
    Thanks Paul. I can see if they sold the mount a la carte it could turn into a customer service nightmare of people having lenses that won't focus properly and not understing why. I have a 47mm apo-digitar which looks terrible on the copal 0 mount I had laying around. When I unscrew the front of the lens about 1 full rotation it looks great. I'm sending to SK Grimes to be proplerly shimmed and to adjust the f-stop scale.

  10. #10
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    7
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Rodenstock Aperture Only Mount

    Quote Originally Posted by Steve Hendrix View Post
    Paul, thanks for chiming in.

    The Rodenstock lenses, in particular, are more complex than Schneider lenses (in terms of the mounting). As in, even where the front and rear optics end up in the rotational pathway relative to each other as they are tightened. Wouldn't be impossible for 3rd party, but not so simple either.


    Steve Hendrix/CI
    That's a pretty complex mating ritual. Sounds like a major selling point for the Rodenstock aperture only mounts is a higher likelyhood of optimal lens performance.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •