Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 29 of 29

Thread: Rodenstock Aperture Only Mount

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    7
    Post Thanks / Like

    Rodenstock Aperture Only Mount

    Has anyone bought one of these a la carte yet? I'm curious about the pricing and availability. I have a lens I need to send to SK grimes to have mounted in a copal zero shutter and want to consider the aperture only route in case it turns out to be cost effective.

  2. #2
    Senior Member Pemihan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    1,687
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1

    Re: Rodenstock Aperture Only Mount

    Quote Originally Posted by ericstaud View Post
    Has anyone bought one of these a la carte yet? I'm curious about the pricing and availability. I have a lens I need to send to SK grimes to have mounted in a copal zero shutter and want to consider the aperture only route in case it turns out to be cost effective.
    I got a quote from Rodenstock for having a bare lens mounted in aperture mount - Euro 1,000
    Obvious that is including the labor, what the cost of the aperture mount itself is I don't know

    Peter

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Little Rock AR
    Posts
    2,427
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    8

    Re: Rodenstock Aperture Only Mount

    I believe it will be in the 2K US range, once you consider in Shipping and Insurance.

    Paul C

  4. #4
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    7
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Rodenstock Aperture Only Mount

    Quote Originally Posted by Paul2660 View Post
    I believe it will be in the 2K US range, once you consider in Shipping and Insurance.

    Paul C
    Ugh. Seems a little nuts that they would charge that much.

    Earlier this year I sent the glass from a 73mm Apo-Digitar along with a copal 0 shutter to S.K. Grimes to be mounted. The charge was $58.00. If they had needed to engrave a new aperture scale it would have been another $70.00.

    I have 47mm and 120mm Digitars which both need mounting, one of them isn't in a shutter.

    Copal 0 shutters can be bought on ebay for under $200. I was hoping the Rodenstock aperture mount would be $200-300, so I could consider going that route instead of buying up used Copals.
    Last edited by ericstaud; 30th November 2019 at 15:29.

  5. #5
    Senior Member Steve Hendrix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    730
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    4

    Re: Rodenstock Aperture Only Mount

    Quote Originally Posted by ericstaud View Post
    Ugh. Seems a little nuts that they would charge that much.

    Earlier this year I sent the glass from a 73mm Apo-Digitar along with a copal 0 shutter to S.K. Grimes to be mounted. The charge was $58.00. If they had needed to engrave a new aperture scale it would have been another $70.00.

    I have 47mm and 120mm Digitars which both need mounting, one of them isn't in a shutter.

    Copal 0 shutters can be bought on ebay for under $200. I was hoping the Rodenstock aperture mount would be $200-300, so I could consider going that route instead of buying up used Copals.
    Eric -

    To be a bit more precise, the cost for mounting an existing lens into Aperture Mount ranges from around $1,450 - $1,700, depending on the host manufacturer (Arca, Alpa, Cambo), shipping charges, etc.


    Steve Hendrix/CI
    Last edited by Steve Hendrix; 2nd December 2019 at 13:03.
    Steve Hendrix, Sales Manager, www.captureintegration.com (e-mail Me)
    Authorized Reseller Digital Cam: • Phase One | Fuji | Leica | Hasselblad •
    Authorized Reseller TechCam: • Alpa | Cambo | Arca Swiss | Sinar •

  6. #6
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    7
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Rodenstock Aperture Only Mount

    Quote Originally Posted by Steve Hendrix View Post
    Eric -

    To be a bit more precise, the cost for mounting an existing lens into Aperture Mount ranges from around $1,450 - $1,700, depending on manufacturer, shipping charges, etc.


    Steve Hendrix/CI
    Thanks Steve, that's great to know. I've been shopping for digital Rodenstock and Schneider lenses and find some for a great price but in the wrong mounts. Do the lens go to Europe for this process? Is it possible to buy the aperture only mount a la carte and have a company like SK grimes mount the elements? Just curious, thanks.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Little Rock AR
    Posts
    2,427
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    8

    Re: Rodenstock Aperture Only Mount

    Not to speak for Steve, but I have checked on this.

    Lens goes back to Rodenstock, has to be mounted into the aperture only by them and then re-aligned. I was told that Rodenstock will not be allowing a third party to do this process at least for the near term.

    BTW, I was close at 2K, as I figure most of the lenses out there will be on the higher side.

    Paul C

  8. #8
    Senior Member Steve Hendrix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    730
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    4

    Re: Rodenstock Aperture Only Mount

    Quote Originally Posted by ericstaud View Post
    Thanks Steve, that's great to know. I've been shopping for digital Rodenstock and Schneider lenses and find some for a great price but in the wrong mounts. Do the lens go to Europe for this process? Is it possible to buy the aperture only mount a la carte and have a company like SK grimes mount the elements? Just curious, thanks.

    Paul, thanks for chiming in.

    The Rodenstock lenses, in particular, are more complex than Schneider lenses (in terms of the mounting). As in, even where the front and rear optics end up in the rotational pathway relative to each other as they are tightened. Wouldn't be impossible for 3rd party, but not so simple either.


    Steve Hendrix/CI
    Steve Hendrix, Sales Manager, www.captureintegration.com (e-mail Me)
    Authorized Reseller Digital Cam: • Phase One | Fuji | Leica | Hasselblad •
    Authorized Reseller TechCam: • Alpa | Cambo | Arca Swiss | Sinar •

  9. #9
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    7
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Rodenstock Aperture Only Mount

    Quote Originally Posted by Paul2660 View Post
    Not to speak for Steve, but I have checked on this.

    Lens goes back to Rodenstock, has to be mounted into the aperture only by them and then re-aligned. I was told that Rodenstock will not be allowing a third party to do this process at least for the near term.

    BTW, I was close at 2K, as I figure most of the lenses out there will be on the higher side.

    Paul C
    Thanks Paul. I can see if they sold the mount a la carte it could turn into a customer service nightmare of people having lenses that won't focus properly and not understing why. I have a 47mm apo-digitar which looks terrible on the copal 0 mount I had laying around. When I unscrew the front of the lens about 1 full rotation it looks great. I'm sending to SK Grimes to be proplerly shimmed and to adjust the f-stop scale.

  10. #10
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    7
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Rodenstock Aperture Only Mount

    Quote Originally Posted by Steve Hendrix View Post
    Paul, thanks for chiming in.

    The Rodenstock lenses, in particular, are more complex than Schneider lenses (in terms of the mounting). As in, even where the front and rear optics end up in the rotational pathway relative to each other as they are tightened. Wouldn't be impossible for 3rd party, but not so simple either.


    Steve Hendrix/CI
    That's a pretty complex mating ritual. Sounds like a major selling point for the Rodenstock aperture only mounts is a higher likelyhood of optimal lens performance.

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Munich
    Posts
    1,136
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1

    Re: Rodenstock Aperture Only Mount

    The new „mount“ looks and feels stunning. Much better than the old helicon mounts.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	B510054E-2A35-41CB-912E-DFD3E87C5341.jpeg 
Views:	2 
Size:	157.9 KB 
ID:	146060
    Christopher Hauser
    http://www.chauser.eu
    Thanks 1 Member(s) thanked for this post
    Likes 3 Member(s) liked this post

  12. #12
    Workshop Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,973
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    7

    Re: Rodenstock Aperture Only Mount

    Quote Originally Posted by Christopher View Post
    The new „mount“ looks and feels stunning. Much better than the old helicon mounts.
    Indeed, between this and the Phase One X-Shutter we finally have fully modern lens mount options for digital large format!

    In related news the Rodenstock eShutter was formally and completely discontinued (in both the Sinar and Rodenstock branding and in both the 125th and 250th versions).

    The 2020s belong to the Aperture Only mount and Phase One X-Shutter.
    Doug Peterson , Digital Transitions | Email
    Dealer for: Phase One, Mamiya Leaf, Arca-Swiss, Cambo, Eizo, Profoto
    Office: 877.367.8537. Cell: 740.707.2183

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    Palm Beach, FL
    Posts
    184
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Rodenstock Aperture Only Mount

    Quote Originally Posted by dougpeterson View Post
    The 2020s belong to the Aperture Only mount and Phase One X-Shutter.
    No (sensible priced) IQ5?
    Last edited by TheDude; 15th December 2019 at 10:48.

  14. #14
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    kdphotography's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Carmel/Tucson
    Posts
    2,791
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Rodenstock Aperture Only Mount

    I would love to see Phase One release an IQ 5150 ...


  15. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Little Rock AR
    Posts
    2,427
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    8

    Re: Rodenstock Aperture Only Mount

    The way it’s going with firmware fixes for problems and issues with the 4150 odds are starting to look like it will take a 5150 to fix things. Things like:

    IMAGES BEING CROPPED FROM FULL SIZE WITH ES
    No adhoc WiFi
    No Capture Pilot
    Inaccurate battery level reporting
    Lack of crisp live view
    Screen blooming with non exposure simulation live view
    3/4 to 1 stop under exposure with exposure simulation live view
    lock ups and hangs requiring power off cycle
    Message stating “no images” every time you turn off the back

    There are more but let’s get these addressed.

    Paul C
    Paul Caldwell
    [email protected]
    www.photosofarkansas.com
    Likes 2 Member(s) liked this post

  16. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    Palm Beach, FL
    Posts
    184
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Rodenstock Aperture Only Mount

    Quote Originally Posted by Paul2660 View Post
    The way it’s going with firmware fixes for problems and issues with the 4150 odds are starting to look like it will take a 5150 to fix things.
    That's why I wrote IQ5, not fixed firmware for IQ4!
    Thanks 1 Member(s) thanked for this post

  17. #17
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    Palm Beach, FL
    Posts
    184
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Rodenstock Aperture Only Mount

    [QUOTE=dougpeterson;806743In related news the Rodenstock eShutter was formally and completely discontinued[/QUOTE]

    I was also told that Rodenstock now has run out of COPAL shutter.

    So both, eShutter and Copal, are no longer available from the factory!

    Now only "aperture only" shutter in combination with electronic shutter or lens cap. (Ignoring P1 X-shutter since being a speciality item.)

    Is it me, are I am turning into a grumpy old man?
    Last edited by TheDude; 15th December 2019 at 13:09.

  18. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Little Rock AR
    Posts
    2,427
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    8

    Re: Rodenstock Aperture Only Mount

    Yes. Rodenstock is out of new Copals.

    Paul C

  19. #19
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    Palm Beach, FL
    Posts
    184
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Rodenstock Aperture Only Mount

    Quote Originally Posted by Paul2660 View Post
    Yes. Rodenstock is out of new Copals.

    Paul C
    Feels like when they stopped making and processing Kodachrome!

    You knew, an epoch came to an end.

  20. #20
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    Palm Beach, FL
    Posts
    184
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Rodenstock Aperture Only Mount

    Quote Originally Posted by Paul2660 View Post
    IMAGES BEING CROPPED FROM FULL SIZE WITH ES
    No adhoc WiFi
    No Capture Pilot
    Inaccurate battery level reporting
    Lack of crisp live view
    Screen blooming with non exposure simulation live view
    3/4 to 1 stop under exposure with exposure simulation live view
    lock ups and hangs requiring power off cycle
    Message stating “no images” every time you turn off the back

    There are more ...
    This is a quite disturbing list.

  21. #21
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Munich
    Posts
    1,136
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1

    Re: Rodenstock Aperture Only Mount

    Quote Originally Posted by Paul2660 View Post
    The way it’s going with firmware fixes for problems and issues with the 4150 odds are starting to look like it will take a 5150 to fix things. Things like:

    IMAGES BEING CROPPED FROM FULL SIZE WITH ES
    No adhoc WiFi
    No Capture Pilot
    Inaccurate battery level reporting
    Lack of crisp live view
    Screen blooming with non exposure simulation live view
    3/4 to 1 stop under exposure with exposure simulation live view
    lock ups and hangs requiring power off cycle
    Message stating “no images” every time you turn off the back

    There are more but let’s get these addressed.

    Paul C
    + Hard button only change iso on tech camera
    + ages since last XF firmware update
    + no new IQ4 update in quite a while
    + last C1 update just ignores Beta reports and actually come out without full tangent support.... :@
    Christopher Hauser
    http://www.chauser.eu
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

  22. #22
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    Palm Beach, FL
    Posts
    184
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Rodenstock Aperture Only Mount

    Quote Originally Posted by dougpeterson View Post
    The 2020s belong to the Aperture Only mount
    I wonder how much support a Kickstarter would get for a wireless Copal replacement controlled via a smartphone?
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

  23. #23
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Munich
    Posts
    1,136
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1

    Re: Rodenstock Aperture Only Mount

    Quote Originally Posted by TheDude View Post
    I wonder how much support a Kickstarter would get for a wireless Copal replacement controlled via a smartphone?
    It depends for what. I don't need flash, so I only need a good ES shutter. This is provided from the IQ3100 onwards. In a few years there will be a global shutter and any mechanical piece just a unusned object.
    Christopher Hauser
    http://www.chauser.eu

  24. #24
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Melbourne AU
    Posts
    381
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    70

    Re: Rodenstock Aperture Only Mount

    I sort of feel like a few companies have dropped the ball here.

    It's maybe as long as 10 years since we had the first news that Copal was coming to an end. Since then we've seen the, now defunct, Rodie/Sinar "eShutter" which was clearly doomed. I'm told by good sources that it was difficult to keep them operating in any sort of working environment.

    So what are we left with? Schneider has gone, Rodie are trying, along with Alpa and others, to convince us that dog sh***t is good for our skin - that is that the lenses in aperture unit are a decent solution. Well they aren't! If you have a perfectly good MFDB that's even a generation old they aren't a solution. And in any event a "sensor-based shutter" will never be an all round solution for me. The places it can't do the job are more important than the places it can do the job.

    Then we come to Phase One and the XT. Well the XT is OK if you have around AUD$75,000 for a dysfunctional IQ4150...and the cash for a few lenses...let's just round that out to AUD$100K. For the vast majority of photographers - whether they make money from their craft or not - it's not a solution. Even if the technology is licensed and someone cooks up an Alpa Silex-like controller it will still amount to a poisonously expensive solution.

    For me and my tech cam with Copal shutters it's like having a very old and frail parent (which I also have): I go to bed hoping the shutter still works in the morning.

    Not much of a solution in that lot for "every-man" or "every-woman".

    So that brings us to the topic for another day. Whilst the GFX cameras are not in the same league as a thumping big MFDB...they are close enough that for the vast majority it doesn't matter. Movements are difficult, again for many it won't matter. If I was Phase One I'd be feeling a very chill Nordic breeze blowing around my ankles. The profit is in the marginal volume and someone in Japan is stealing the marginal volume.

    <\endrant>
    Thanks 1 Member(s) thanked for this post

  25. #25
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    Palm Beach, FL
    Posts
    184
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Rodenstock Aperture Only Mount

    Quote Originally Posted by Pelorus View Post
    with Copal shutters it's like having a very old and frail parent ... I go to bed hoping the shutter still works in the morning.
    Copal shutters are regarded as very reliable. Never had a Copal shutter yet fail on me except when I dropped one into a pond, shutter stopped working but aperture was OK (got it fixed). Know one case where the Copal shutter on a heavily used mid 70s lens was 1/2 stop off before it got readjusted. Probably also easy to repair.


    Agree with everything else.
    Last edited by TheDude; 4 Weeks Ago at 10:03.

  26. #26
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    Palm Beach, FL
    Posts
    184
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Rodenstock Aperture Only Mount

    Quote Originally Posted by Christopher View Post
    In a few years there will be a global shutter and any mechanical piece just a unusned object.
    Even if there should be global shutter, how are going to adjust aperture?

  27. #27
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Munich
    Posts
    1,136
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1

    Re: Rodenstock Aperture Only Mount

    Aperture Mount.
    Christopher Hauser
    http://www.chauser.eu

  28. #28
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    Palm Beach, FL
    Posts
    184
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Rodenstock Aperture Only Mount

    Quote Originally Posted by Christopher View Post
    Aperture Mount.
    "any mechanical piece just a unusned object"

  29. #29
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Munich
    Posts
    1,136
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1

    Re: Rodenstock Aperture Only Mount

    Quote Originally Posted by TheDude View Post
    "any mechanical piece just a unusned object"
    That was specifically meant for any shutter device.
    Christopher Hauser
    http://www.chauser.eu

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •