Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Phase One IQ3 100 with Hasselblad H4d-40 Question

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Jonesboro, Arkansas
    Posts
    239
    Post Thanks / Like

    Phase One IQ3 100 with Hasselblad H4d-40 Question

    Hoping someone can give me some insight to pairing a Phase One IQ3 100 with Hasselblad H4d-40. I have the Phase One back that I shoot with a Cambo technical camera and I was wonder if the mount were changed to H mount would it work with my H4D? I have the H4D with several lens that would be nice to use on certain occasions. If this is possible, and not too expensive, is there a reason I would not want to do this?
    Thanks in advance,
    Greg

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Little Rock AR
    Posts
    2,407
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    8

    Re: Phase One IQ3 100 with Hasselblad H4d-40 Question

    Only reason I could think of, Phase doesn't physically change the mount, they just ship another back, with the mount. If your back is where you want it, no issues, and has the DR and image quality you like, the issue with a mount swap is receiving a totally different back which may or may not have the same image quality.

    Trust me, there are differences between Phase backs, some just have better signal noise response than others.

    Paul C
    Paul Caldwell
    [email protected]
    www.photosofarkansas.com
    Thanks 1 Member(s) thanked for this post
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Jonesboro, Arkansas
    Posts
    239
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Phase One IQ3 100 with Hasselblad H4d-40 Question

    Quote Originally Posted by Paul2660 View Post
    Only reason I could think of, Phase doesn't physically change the mount, they just ship another back, with the mount. If your back is where you want it, no issues, and has the DR and image quality you like, the issue with a mount swap is receiving a totally different back which may or may not have the same image quality.

    Trust me, there are differences between Phase backs, some just have better signal noise response than others.

    Paul C

    Thank you Paul! I love my current IQ3 100, it is actually the only digital back I have ever had that has worked exactly as expected every time, it would not be worth taking a chance.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    957
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Phase One IQ3 100 with Hasselblad H4d-40 Question

    I am under the impression that the P1 back won’t work with the H4D-40 body (I shot with one for a couple years). I thought after the H2, Hasselblad “closed” their platform and you’d need an H4X/H5X/H6X for P1 compatibility. I’m sure someone will chime in and correct me if I’m wrong though.
    Thanks 1 Member(s) thanked for this post
    Likes 3 Member(s) liked this post

  5. #5
    Senior Member stngoldberg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    newport, RI
    Posts
    1,142
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    13

    Re: Phase One IQ3 100 with Hasselblad H4d-40 Question

    Quote Originally Posted by tcdeveau View Post
    I am under the impression that the P1 back won’t work with the H4D-40 body (I shot with one for a couple years). I thought after the H2, Hasselblad “closed” their platform and you’d need an H4X/H5X/H6X for P1 compatibility. I’m sure someone will chime in and correct me if I’m wrong though.
    You are correct
    Stanley
    Thanks 1 Member(s) thanked for this post
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Jonesboro, Arkansas
    Posts
    239
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Phase One IQ3 100 with Hasselblad H4d-40 Question

    Thank you to everyone for your help!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •