Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: LR 9.2 ... IQ4 150 now supported!

  1. #1
    Workshop Member Wayne Fox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Draper, Utah
    Posts
    993
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    135

    LR 9.2 ... IQ4 150 now supported!

    For those Phase One closet Lightroom users out there, or for those that just depend on LRís Library module for itís DAM features (much better than Capture one), todays release supports the IQ4 150!

    Also Lightroom finally supports PSB files .... big deal for those using Lightroom and doing pano merges etc.
    wayne
    My gallery
    Thanks 3 Member(s) thanked for this post
    Likes 5 Member(s) liked this post

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Munich
    Posts
    1,139
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1

    Re: LR 9.2 ... IQ4 150 now supported!

    Sadly not all is great. Psb is supported, however, the image size restrictions are still there. So no big panos....
    Christopher Hauser
    http://www.chauser.eu

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Little Rock AR
    Posts
    2,438
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    8

    Re: LR 9.2 ... IQ4 150 now supported!

    How do the files look when opened in LR? The LR conversion for the 3100 was less than stellar as any push in shadow areas had a red tint and way too much noise.

    I have not looked at Adobe for the CMOS backs in a while due to problems I saw when LR announced 3100 support.

    Paul C

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    264
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: LR 9.2 ... IQ4 150 now supported!

    So far it looks pretty good to me. I don't see any of the red shadow issue that was so common with IQ3100 files but I've only checked a couple of images.
    Thanks 1 Member(s) thanked for this post

  5. #5
    Senior Member dchew's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Northeast Ohio
    Posts
    1,398
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: LR 9.2 ... IQ4 150 now supported!

    Yeah looks pretty good. I am one of those who uses both programs. Glad we have options!

    Dave
    How glorious a greeting the sun gives the mountains! - John Muir

    davechewphotography.com

  6. #6
    Senior Member Greg Haag's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Jonesboro, Arkansas
    Posts
    302
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: LR 9.2 ... IQ4 150 now supported!

    Quote Originally Posted by dchew View Post
    Yeah looks pretty good. I am one of those who uses both programs. Glad we have options!

    Dave
    Same here, between all of my old Hasselblad files and current use of Leica S, I am very tied to Lightroom. It really threw my workflow off when I could not import Phase One files into Lightroom.
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

  7. #7
    Senior Member dchew's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Northeast Ohio
    Posts
    1,398
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: LR 9.2 ... IQ4 150 now supported!

    Quote Originally Posted by Greg Haag View Post
    Same here, between all of my old Hasselblad files and current use of Leica S, I am very tied to Lightroom. It really threw my workflow off when I could not import Phase One files into Lightroom.
    Yes, exactly my issue. I still have a big hole in my workflow. I've all but abandoned the master PS file concept. With the great layers capability in C1, I do very little in PS these days other than simple 2-image stitching. That means my "master" file is really the raw file in C1. That gets exported as a tiff into LR into my master catalog. But, obviously that is a single-layer tiff. If I ever want to change it I need to go back into C1 and re-export the tiff file into LR. The hole is a direct link to that raw file like a smart object.

    I should know this, but is there a way to imbed the C1 raw file with all its adjustments (like an EiP) into an exported tiff that can then be reopened in C1? I know it would be a big file, but in my case that doesn't matter.

    Dave
    How glorious a greeting the sun gives the mountains! - John Muir

    davechewphotography.com

  8. #8
    Senior Member Greg Haag's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Jonesboro, Arkansas
    Posts
    302
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: LR 9.2 ... IQ4 150 now supported!

    I should know this, but is there a way to imbed the C1 raw file with all its adjustments (like an EiP) into an exported tiff that can then be reopened in C1?

    Dave[/QUOTE]


    Dave, to my knowledge there is not, the last I read C1 does not offer a way to save its adjustment data into xmp sidecars so that LR can read the adjustments.

  9. #9
    Workshop Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,990
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    7

    Re: LR 9.2 ... IQ4 150 now supported!

    Quote Originally Posted by Greg Haag View Post
    I should know this, but is there a way to imbed the C1 raw file with all its adjustments (like an EiP) into an exported tiff that can then be reopened in C1?

    Dave

    Dave, to my knowledge there is not, the last I read C1 does not offer a way to save its adjustment data into xmp sidecars so that LR can read the adjustments.[/QUOTE]

    This misunderstands what a raw file is.

    C1 can (and does) write it's adjustments to a sidecar (happens to carry the file extension .cos but it's encoded in XML format). But that's irrelevant.

    The final output of any raw editing software (LR/C1/Aperture/whatever) is [Raw data] + [Adjustment Settings] + [Math/Algorithms]

    Since C1 does not use the same math as LR* having the same raw data and adjustment settings cannot result in the same image.

    So you can either keep the flexibility of a raw file, or you can have the final image produced by C1, but (unless you remain in C1) you cannot have both. The closest you can come is outputting a 16-bit TIFF that is carefully adjusted to not contain any clipped whites or blacks; it's not the same as a raw, but it's as good as you'll get if you want to avail yourself of C1's color/detail/lens algorithms but use some other software to do the rest.

    *In my heavily biased opinion this is a very good thing, since I find the math in C1 is much better
    Doug Peterson , Digital Transitions | Email
    Dealer for: Phase One, Mamiya Leaf, Arca-Swiss, Cambo, Eizo, Profoto
    Office: 877.367.8537. Cell: 740.707.2183

  10. #10
    Workshop Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,990
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    7

    Re: LR 9.2 ... IQ4 150 now supported!

    By the way, we (DT) coordinated with Adobe on capturing the required images to implement support for the IQ4 in LightRoom. I still advocate strongly that C1 is the best raw processor on the market, and frankly, with the tools added in 12 and 20, I think everything else is a distant second. BUT we believe in choice for our clients, and LR has some highly useful features C1 does not (e.g. pano stitching), so it made sense for us to spend our time to help make sure it was supported.

    Glad its inclusion pleased some on the forum!
    Doug Peterson , Digital Transitions | Email
    Dealer for: Phase One, Mamiya Leaf, Arca-Swiss, Cambo, Eizo, Profoto
    Office: 877.367.8537. Cell: 740.707.2183
    Thanks 1 Member(s) thanked for this post
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

  11. #11
    Subscriber and Workshop Member MGrayson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    2,324
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    4

    Re: LR 9.2 ... IQ4 150 now supported!

    Quote Originally Posted by dougpeterson View Post
    By the way, we (DT) coordinated with Adobe on capturing the required images to implement support for the IQ4 in LightRoom. I still advocate strongly that C1 is the best raw processor on the market, and frankly, with the tools added in 12 and 20, I think everything else is a distant second. BUT we believe in choice for our clients, and LR has some highly useful features C1 does not (e.g. pano stitching), so it made sense for us to spend our time to help make sure it was supported.

    Glad its inclusion pleased some on the forum!
    Like support of Leica S and Hasselblad X1D files.



    Matt (yes, I complain about this constantly, and I should complain to C1...)
    Likes 2 Member(s) liked this post

  12. #12
    New Member Stephan S's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    9
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: LR 9.2 ... IQ4 150 now supported!

    Quote Originally Posted by dougpeterson View Post
    LR has some highly useful features C1 does not (e.g. pano stitching), so it made sense for us to spend our time to help make sure it was supported.
    Doug, are you suggesting that the following workflow would now be possible?

    1. Stitch pano from two IQ150 raws in LR.
    2. Import the unadjusted and stitched raw pano to C1, and finalize the color, tone, sharpening in C1.

    I doubt the lens correction code would translate to a pano, but do you happen to know if the basic adjustments would function normally?

    -Stephan
    Stephan

  13. #13
    New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    15
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: LR 9.2 ... IQ4 150 now supported!

    Quote Originally Posted by Stephan S View Post
    Doug, are you suggesting that the following workflow would now be possible?

    1. Stitch pano from two IQ150 raws in LR.
    2. Import the unadjusted and stitched raw pano to C1, and finalize the color, tone, sharpening in C1.

    I doubt the lens correction code would translate to a pano, but do you happen to know if the basic adjustments would function normally?

    -Stephan
    Stephan, you can edit LR stitched DNGs in C1 20 Pro. The C1 20 for Phase One version doesn't allow editing DNGs even when they come from a Phase One camera. When I worked with a 460MP DNG C1 performance was very slow on my PC. It's much faster to work with similar sized files in Photoshop. My stitched DNG had a different white balance bias compared to native IQ4 files. So you cannot use the same settings as for single shot IQ4 files for the same appearance.

    -Dominique

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •