The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Upgrading: torn between a DB / Sony IV / GFX50-100

Hi

I need your recommendation, pov.
Premise: I'm a semi pro photographer (im a designer as main job) and I own already Sony A7RIII, Canon 5DSR, Actus Mini and XL, Stackshot, and a bunch of Schneider lenses from 47mm to 150mm (i used to have 4x5 and 8x10) and I love to shoot only product/architecture and rarely portraits

Im probably in a middle life crisis (i bought a motorcycle last year) and now i feel i want to do a "big" upgrade but I'm torn between few options:
1. be responsible and wait for 2021 for Canon to release the 80MP R camera?
2. Upgrade to Sony IV (pixelshift provide quality similar to MF but man what a pain in the *** the workflow)
3. move in the used market for a DB MF... a Credo Leaf seem decently priced... or stick to mirrorless like the FUJI GFX 50 or 100...Hasselblad 50...

the easiest of course would be to stick to Sony for now since my system wouldn't need any change... but the temptation is to finally move to MF... (that beautiful feeling when I bought my first Hasselblad 500C)

MGrayson

Subscriber and Workshop Member
There is only one answer, and I am deadly serious:

Try them.

No specs, examples, recommendations, or anecdotes from others matter in the slightest. The system you feel best with will serve you best. If nothing feels better (use and output) than what you have, wait.

Enjoy!

Matt (for example, I didn't like the GFX 50 bodies at all, but the GFX 100 is my second favorite.)

eisbaer

lf you shoot mainly architecture / landscape and want to have the same feeling with your 500c...