Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Phase One body exposure bracketing question

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Little Rock AR
    Posts
    1,927
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    4

    Phase One body exposure bracketing question

    I just found out that the old 1ds and 1ds MKII actually can go to up to 7 exposure brackets, by the use of the personal functions settings. The camera defaults to 3. Does anyone know if Phase might have added a similar setting in the Phase One/AFD III body, in one of the custom functions that would allow a user to increase the exposure bracketing up from 3?

    Thanks
    Paul Caldwell

  2. #2
    Workshop Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,275
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    7

    Re: Phase One body exposure bracketing question

    Nope.

  3. #3
    Sr. Administrator Jack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Los Altos, CA
    Posts
    10,486
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1031

    Re: Phase One body exposure bracketing question

    But it's pretty easy to do manually if you are already on a tripod -- just change the mode to M and go as far up or down from -0- as you want.
    Jack
    home: www.getdpi.com

    "Perfection is not attainable. But if we chase perfection, we can catch excellence."

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Little Rock AR
    Posts
    1,927
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    4

    Re: Phase One body exposure bracketing question

    That is how I have been doing it, but every once and a while I get just a tad of movement which throws off the HDR tool I am using now, as it doesn't have an alignment step.

    Paul

  5. #5
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: Phase One body exposure bracketing question

    Paul I sent this in as a request to Phase One. Hopefully we will see this either in a firmware upgrade or a new body. But I agree it would be a useful option to have
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  6. #6
    Senior Member etrump's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    1,206
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Phase One body exposure bracketing question

    Quote Originally Posted by Guy Mancuso View Post
    Paul I sent this in as a request to Phase One. Hopefully we will see this either in a firmware upgrade or a new body. But I agree it would be a useful option to have
    Ask them to increase the bracket to at least 2 stops. Currently the max you can do is one stop.

  7. #7
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    carstenw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Posts
    2,530
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Phase One body exposure bracketing question

    If you have CS4 or Photomatix Pro, you can use it just to generate the HDR file, and use your tool to do the tone mapping. That might get you around the slight movement problem. I think Photomatix Basic (freeware) might even do the HDR file:

    http://www.hdrsoft.com/download.html
    Carsten - Website

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Little Rock AR
    Posts
    1,927
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    4

    Re: Phase One body exposure bracketing question

    The tool I am using is Tim Farr's and by design it will not use the output from either Photomatrix or Adobe. His tool set IMO is worth the extra effort.

    I totally agree on the bracketing increase, I forgot you can only go 1 stop, which for HDR many times is worthless.

    Paul Caldwell

  9. #9
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    carstenw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Posts
    2,530
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Phase One body exposure bracketing question

    It can't accept .exr, .hdr or 16- or 32-bit tiffs? Hmm. Where can I find his tool?
    Carsten - Website

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Little Rock AR
    Posts
    1,927
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    4

    Re: Phase One body exposure bracketing question

    Here is the link to his site

    http://www.farrarfocus.com/ffdd/license.htm

    IMO his method is the best I have used and I have tried them all. Tim takes it back to the old darkroom something I can appreciate.

    In the process, you create dng output then run his script. This creates a linear tiff that you then process with his action set. I have asked him for a step that runs an alignment process, but so far, he has not created one that I know of. You also may have problems running the actions with CS4, they will work fine with CS3.

    Tim is a working photographer with his wife and they travel to shows quite a bit, if you email him it may take a few day for him to reply, but he will get back to you.

    If you can figure out a way to align within his method, it would be great.

    Paul Caldwell

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •