The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Going back to Full Frame DSLR

Rand47

This is a terrific thread. Thanks all for your perspectives.

I’ve been making photographs since I was 10 years old. That was just over 60 years ago, now. Wow. I think I may be typical of a sub-set of photographers my age. High school year book, newspaper, had my own little darkroom. In the military in sunny southeast Asia I served as recon photographer, taught photography at the post craft shop when home. Then, in my career in the fire service I made photos for the departments I worked for, events, training, etc., and freelanced on the side. I’ve owned or used pretty much every type of camera available over the years. 120 box cameras, 2 1/4 TLRs, 4x5, 35mm “bricks,” Texas Leicas, real Leicas (my M4 is probably my favorite of all time), SLR, modular MF film cameras, early digital point-n-shoot, dSLR, 4:3 mirrorless, FF dSLR, mirrorless APS-C ...

From the early 70’s I had the privilege of visiting Carmel, CA at least once a year (sometimes more) and “worshiping at the shrines” at the Weston Gallery and Photography West Gallery. I’ve spent more hours than I can count staring at original prints made by the masters, Weston(s), Karsh, Adams, Caponegro, Smith, Haas, Penn . . . and many others. I longed to be able to, one day, stand in front of on of my own prints and feel that way. And I’m talking about a certain “something” in terms of print IQ that left nothing to be desired. I don’t think I can describe it beyond that. It wasn’t about any one thing like resolution/detail.

I got close - sometimes.