Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Phase IQ4 screen flicker

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Eads, Tennessee
    Posts
    1,559
    Post Thanks / Like

    Phase IQ4 screen flicker

    Since updating to the latest firmware (7.00.7) the screen on my 4100 jumps/flickers in live view at 100% pixels. Only happens when I move the image around and stops immediately but is 100% repeatable and extremely annoying.

    Has anyone else experienced this or am I alone?

    Thanks much.....

    Victor B

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Eads, Tennessee
    Posts
    1,559
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Phase IQ4 screen flicker

    Quote Originally Posted by vjbelle View Post
    Since updating to the latest firmware (7.00.7) the screen on my 4100 jumps/flickers in live view at 100% pixels. Only happens when I move the image around and stops immediately but is 100% repeatable and extremely annoying.

    Has anyone else experienced this or am I alone?

    Thanks much.....

    Victor B
    Nobody with a 4150 can tell me if their screen flickers?

    Would like any feedback before contacting my dealer....

    Thanks....

    Victor B

  3. #3
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Little Rock AR
    Posts
    2,507
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    8

    Re: Phase IQ4 screen flicker

    Mine hasnít flickered in about 4 months. Last time I powered it on. I have noticed the issue since day 1. Commented to my dealer. But still see issue depending on light. Have latest firmware as of Jan 2020 not sure if anything else has been released. Once I re charge everything I will check again.

    Paul C

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Eads, Tennessee
    Posts
    1,559
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Phase IQ4 screen flicker

    Thanks Paul.....

    FWIW..... I rolled back to the factory firmware and then applied each subsequent firmware testing each one for this anomaly. My LCD is rock solid until the last update. If you have this issue then I'm pretty sure everyone does.

    Victor B
    Last edited by vjbelle; 10th May 2020 at 10:38.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    on a mountain
    Posts
    98
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    4

    Re: Phase IQ4 screen flicker

    Hello Victor,

    i documented the problem at Phase One Germany last year. They were able to understand it and confirmed the problem (I also have videos of it somewhere). For me, it mainly occurred on the Cambo with pictures with a high contrast range (e.g. sky / landscape) in connection with auto brightness in Live View.

    Since version 7.00.7, I have not noticed it personally. But that doesn't mean anything - I haven't worked much in the past three months due to the crisis.

    Greetings Gerd

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Location
    STL Missouri
    Posts
    220
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Phase IQ4 screen flicker

    We have not experienced any issues with screen flicker on our IQ4 with any of the firmware variations we loaded.


    Robert B

  7. #7
    Senior Member dchew's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Northeast Ohio
    Posts
    1,441
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Phase IQ4 screen flicker

    Hi Victor,
    Sorry, Iíve had my head buried in a new printer so havenít checked many forums lately. Interesting that my flicker / pulsing used to be a problem but I have not noticed it in a long while. I am on 7.00.7 but use live view in the mode that mimics the exposure. I forget what they call it. One of the modes suffered from flicker while the other didnít. Maybe I am using the one that isnít a problem.

    Dave
    How glorious a greeting the sun gives the mountains! - John Muir

    davechewphotography.com

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Eads, Tennessee
    Posts
    1,559
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Phase IQ4 screen flicker

    My back is in the same live view mode - mimics exposure. In any magnification level once I take my finger off the LCD screen the image really flickers and stops immediately. Drives me nuts..... Only experienced this with firmware 7.00.7.

    Victor B

  9. #9
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Bill Caulfeild-Browne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Saugeen Peninsula, Ontario
    Posts
    2,883
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    376

    Re: Phase IQ4 screen flicker

    I'm not sure if this will help, but look at Page 52 of the March 2020 version of the XF/IQ4 User Manual.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Eads, Tennessee
    Posts
    1,559
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Phase IQ4 screen flicker

    Hi Bill..... the manual is referencing a different type of flickering which is associated with 60hz or 50hz light sources.

    Oddly enough if I change my live view to 'Viewfinder' mode the flickering/jumping which occurs immediately after lifting my finger off of the LCD screen is gone. So, I am convinced that this is a software issue - but still annoying.

    Victor B
    Thanks 1 Member(s) thanked for this post

  11. #11
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Bill Caulfeild-Browne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Saugeen Peninsula, Ontario
    Posts
    2,883
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    376

    Re: Phase IQ4 screen flicker

    My IQ4 is currently being serviced but when I get it back I'll see if I can replicate the problem.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •