Site Sponsors

Thread: P45+, M8 or 5DII for the ABC?

Post Thanks / Like

P45+, M8 or 5DII for the ABC?

I've been offered the gig of shooting the Archbishop of Canterbury (ABC) at Lambeth Palace. The shots will be used for a press archive and for general publicity use.

Flattered as I am, this is not the sort of thing I do. As anyone who has ever seen my website will see, there aren't many people shots and I never use anything but ambient light. I have no experience with using formal portraiture techniques in the studio or with flash, nor do I generally like that sort of work when I see it done by others. I don't even really like using reflectors.

So if I say 'yes' to the offer, I'd be relying on my ability to find the rights spots and light around the place.

My first thought is to take the Phase/Phamiya setup with the standard lens and some extension tubes. But then I could take my 5DII and be less likely to suffer shutter and mirror slap blur. Or I could take my M8 and dance like a butterfly with some lovely glass and only myself to blame for focus.

What would YOU do?

Best

Tim

Super Duper

Post Thanks / Like

Re: P45+, M8 or 5DII for the ABC?

I would bring the DSLR with a flash for fill - only use the flash if the light is bad.
    I would aslo bring the M8 with a fast lens.
    I am pretty sure I would not bring MF-kit.

Super Duper

Post Thanks / Like
    Images

Pass it off to an experienced portrait shooter? Seriously and no offense, with a cheese as big as this one, if you don't have the know how...
    I am not a painter, nor an artist. Therefore I can see straight, and that may be my undoing. - Alfred Stieglitz

Super Duper
    Post Thanks / Like

I'd also bring 5D2 and M8, the latter probably with the 50 Lux ASPH, and look for some nice natural light. Make a couple of safe shots with the 5D2 and then experiment a little with the M8, probably at ISO 320, if possible, wide open.
    Carsten - Website

Post Thanks / Like