The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

P45+, M8 or 5DII for the ABC?

tashley

Subscriber Member
I've been offered the gig of shooting the Archbishop of Canterbury (ABC) at Lambeth Palace. The shots will be used for a press archive and for general publicity use.

Flattered as I am, this is not the sort of thing I do. As anyone who has ever seen my website will see, there aren't many people shots and I never use anything but ambient light. I have no experience with using formal portraiture techniques in the studio or with flash, nor do I generally like that sort of work when I see it done by others. I don't even really like using reflectors.

So if I say 'yes' to the offer, I'd be relying on my ability to find the rights spots and light around the place.

My first thought is to take the Phase/Phamiya setup with the standard lens and some extension tubes. But then I could take my 5DII and be less likely to suffer shutter and mirror slap blur. Or I could take my M8 and dance like a butterfly with some lovely glass and only myself to blame for focus.

What would YOU do?

Best

Tim

Paratom

I would bring the DSLR with a flash for fill - only use the flash if the light is bad.
I would aslo bring the M8 with a fast lens.
I am pretty sure I would not bring MF-kit.

Ben Rubinstein

Pass it off to an experienced portrait shooter? Seriously and no offense, with a cheese as big as this one, if you don't have the know how...

carstenw